¡Bienvenido en Chile!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 28th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow, wow and double wow! I have just undertaken a 6 hour journey by bus across the Andes to Santiago, Chile and boy did I never think I would see scenery that stupendous! The air was crystal clear and the sky was blue as we wound our way up to the tunnel to Chile at a whopping 4,300m. I had taken some diamox for the altitude which had the somewhat disconcerting effect of producing a strange tingling sensation in my fingers and feet. I have to admit the altitude effected me less than I thought considering I am asthmatic but waiting in line for the (extremely tedious) border crossing into Chile, I did find myself feeling light-headed.
Despite this, the trip was incredible and we got crystal clear views of Aconcagua (the highest mountain in the Americas at just under 7000m) as well as incredible Andean vistas in just about every direction.
I am now in Santiago for 2 nights then off on my northern Chile trip.
¡Viva la America del Sur!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb