The big man´s momma


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 4th 2006
Published: March 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, it´s been a while because, given that this is Santiago, there´s not been a whole lot to report....

Today I finally went up the funicular up Cerro San Cristóbal to see la madre de JC. Quite liked it actually, views were pretty good, and it was a completely cloudless day. Could even see a little bit of snow up in the high Andes through the smog. Kinda creepy thoug, there´s a open air church thingy right next to it with speakers blaring out recordings of services. I swear it was a funeral, the guy sounded really sad and the music wass really depressing. Made the experience that little bit different and rather surreal. Unfortunately when I arrived I realised that I´d forgetten to put the memory card back in my camera, so couldn´t take pictures. Which means I´ll have to go back again. Apparently if I go later in the evening, the smog clears a little so the views are clearer. And I also want to go back because I saw a T-Shirt I want to buy. It´s for Santiago de Chile, showing the important sights in cartoon form. Los Andes, Cerro San Cristóbal, El Metrópoli (the business centre I guess, lots of big office blocks in the picture), Los Parques, and El Metro (the underground). THAT says everything to me.

Anyway, ran into some gals from school, Nadia, Rebecca and Meredith. and went with them to the Mercado Central to eat. It´s a big old market building, but as well as the usual market stuff of stalls of fresh fruits and vegetables and fish and meat, etc, they have a load of really good really cheap restaurants. Mainly serving very good seafood. It´s my new favourite place in Santiago!! My razor clams with parmesan were delicious. I have to go back before I leave.

Talking of which, the school has got my ticket to Quito. I fly Copa air via Panama City. Ridiculous. I have a 7 hour flight all the way up to Panama, a 2 hour wait there, then another 2 hour flight back down to Quito. So what could take 5 hours will take 11. Dagnammit.

Right, I´m outta here...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.09s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb