A wasted weekend?!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 26th 2006
Published: February 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SantiagoSantiagoSantiago

Mmmmmm, nice... It´s like a big Cov or Stoke....
Well, that´s been a wierd one. Friday night my good buddy Gustav had a big party to celebrate finishing his Spanish studies at the school after something like 4 or 5 months in total (including one month in Bs As).

Saturday I was meant to get up to join some other students at the beach in Pichilemu, but overslept, so didn´t really do anything all day. Saturday night, not having anyone to go out with I stayed home and got drunk with my host family. I´m sure that must be good for my Spanish, but it´s strange how it only really starts to flow when the alcohol does too....

So Sunday, today, the day I´d decided (not being at the beach) to dedicate to seeing the sights of Santiago, was really quite lame. After 2 weeks of near faultless weather, except the occasional slightly cool night and early morning cloud, today was overcast and at times even a tad drizzly. Dagnammit. So I went to see La Moneda (the Presidencial Palace) and Plaza de Armas, and the general area around them. All very underwhelming, I didn´t even take photos. Then I went up the Cerro Santa Lucia, and the
Santiago at nightSantiago at nightSantiago at night

Much better that way!...
overcast conditions made views over the city to the Andes fairly uninspiring too and made it clear that I should leave a trip up the much taller Cerro San Cristóbal for another day. So I trudged back home, and here I am.

I´ve worked out my problem with this city. Pleasant and modern though it is, it´s just really rather soulless and characterless. The only real point of interest is the surprisingly large amount of stray dogs wandering around (far more than in BsAs or even Rio, though less than the absurd amount in Valparaiso). Being not overly fond of our canine ´friends´ I guess this further compounds Santiagos lack of charm in my eyes.

It´s still a whole load better than being at home, at work, in the cold and snow though..... Hehe!!!

Right, lets´see if I´ve got any remotely interesting piccies to put up...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Gustav...Gustav...
Gustav...

Enjoying his party...
MeMe
Me

With 2 German chicas


27th February 2006

German Girls Hmmm.....
Well, I've finally got my act together and sorted out some internet access! It staggers me that I'm in one of the most technologically advanced countries in the world and I'm still living in the Dark Ages. Well, it sounds like you've been having a hoot brother! Don't worry about the odd occassional wipeout of a weekend, it just makes you appreciate the good ones even more. When you coming to grace my neck of the woods with the Billy magic? Simon
27th February 2006

Challenge
Hmm, I have to admit I cant find anything interesting for you to do. Err best wait until your next destination. Bonjour Wogeo X
27th February 2006

soul crushing
there's probably a reason that chileans suffer from the highest stress and depression rates in latin america, and this may have something to do with what you sense is a certain "souless" feeling from santiago. you may be on to something. hope things get better. cheers!
1st March 2006

Wogeo Challenge
I'm so disappointed with Paul not finding you a challenge - how about you trying this one? The first Tuesday of every month the "Raging Cyclists" cycle through Santiago to try to get more cycle paths. Why not borrow a bike and join the Movimiento de Furiosos Ciclistas on Tuesday? You look like you could do with the exercise!
2nd March 2006

Come back to BsAs!
We miss you here buddy! Come back!! Mike

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb