Introduction to El Sur de Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Puerto Varas
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a very long overnight sleepless bus journey from Santiago, I arrived in Puerto Varas. At least the journey was very comfortable. I am amazed with the cama seats and the amount of space available. I may not have slept well but I was comfortable and did not feel cramped - a contrast to being on a plane! It was a bit of a walk to the guest house from the terminus but worth it for the welcome I received. Mauricio and co gave me a warm welcome and nothing seemed to be a problem. My room was not ready but I had breakfast and freshened up whilst my room was being made.

Soon as I got myself organised, I had a wander. I wandered along the Lago Llanquihue's shoreline. This is where I saw my first glimpse of Volcan Osorno and Volcan Cabucho. Having the perfect weather, I saw the volcanoes clearly and the views were breathtaking. They stand out so majestically amongst the scenery. I felt very humbled seeing them. After taking some photos, I explored the town. There is not much to see and do there although there are plenty of cafes and restaurants where I had
Volcan OsornoVolcan OsornoVolcan Osorno

Majestic view!
a coffee and lunch. I made the last minute decision to do a tour of Volcan Osorno (See Volcans Rule!), which was later on in the day.

At the hostel, I met some friendly and very helpful people. I hope to meet up with one of them when I am in Barlioche. The guest house staff are very hospitable and approachable, which made my stay in Puerto Varas very enjoyable. I highly recommend Compass Del Sur Bed and Breakfast if you are travelling around Southern Chile.

Frutillar

On another day, I caught a local bus to Frutillar, a half an hour journey from Puerto Varas. I had a couple of hours or so exploring the town. I had to do the ritual of having "onces" in one of the tea houses. I also had a wander along the lake's shoreline. Again, I saw Volcan Osorno but clouded this time. I would have liked to visit the Museo Colonial Aleman but time did not permit. However, I managed to take photos of the some German colonial old buildings from the outside and there is a strong German presence with its buildings and food in the town. Frutillar is a nice escape from Puerto Varas
Iglesia del Sagrado CorazonIglesia del Sagrado CorazonIglesia del Sagrado Corazon

This church is similar to those in Germany's Black Forest (constructed around 1918).
and renowned for its yearly classical music festivals.

Visiting Puerto Varas was a bonus. Visiting the town and the environs were not in my original plans to Chile and Argentina but circumstances made this possible and I am very glad I did so!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dawn having "Onces"Dawn having "Onces"
Dawn having "Onces"

Having "Onces" at one of the many tea houses in Frutillar.
German Colonial BuildingsGerman Colonial Buildings
German Colonial Buildings

A lot of German influences with colonial buildings and food in Frutillar.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb