Volcans Rule!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Ensenada
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Volcan OsornoVolcan OsornoVolcan Osorno

From Lago Llanquihue
During my stay in Puerto Varas, I joined a tour one late afternoon for a tour of Volcan Osorno and its environs. It was a wonderful opportunity considering the perfect weather with no cloud in the sky to see the volcano clearly. I got picked up at the guest house and after picking other passengers, we drove along the eastern shore of Lago Llanquihue stopping once to take photos of Volcan Osorno in the distance. After going through Ensenada, we entered in Parque Nacionale Vicentre Perez Rosales where we ascended to the volcano's base. There was an opportunity to go up on the chair lift. Some of us including me went up and we got to three quarters of a way up to the summit where we were greeted with stunning and clear views of the snow capped volcano. Down below, we had stunning views of Volcan Calbucho and Lago Llanquihue. I was told it is rare seeing the volcano Osorno without the clouds and this year, there were a lot more cloudy and rainy days in the area than clear and sunny ones. I feel lucky being there on one of those rare perfect days after learning about the usual weather. After descending from the ski resort, we stopped a couple of times to take photos of lookouts of Volcan Calbucho and down below. The views were so stunning. We continued driving along the lakeshore and stopped in a German Tea House where we had yummy hot chocolate before returning to Puerto Varas. On the trip, I learnt so much about the Volcans' history and my respect grew more for volcanoes in nature. Volcanoes are not to be taken for granted because they may be pretty things one moment but another time they can create a lot of consequences from a natural's and man made's point of view when they are erupting and/or with increased activity. Take the example of Volcan Chaiten in Chile´s Carreterra Austral which erupted in May this year and consequences following that. The Volcan, I understand, was dormant and had not erupted for thousand of years so this came very unexpected. I am learning not to take nature especially volcanoes for granted at all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Summit of Volcan OsornoSummit of Volcan Osorno
Summit of Volcan Osorno

The furthest I could go on the chair lift!
Volcan CalbuchoVolcan Calbucho
Volcan Calbucho

A view of Volcan Calbucho from Volcan Osorno.
On the Chair LiftOn the Chair Lift
On the Chair Lift

Descending down!
German Tea HouseGerman Tea House
German Tea House

Where we had hot chocolate (yummy!)


3rd November 2008

Lucky lucky you!
I am sooooo jealous!
6th November 2008

wow!
Dawn, these pics are sooo amazing and beautiful.You sound to be having a grand adventure.
7th November 2008

So far so good!
Saw and done so much and I´m only in my first week!
12th September 2009

Beautiful
Dawn, the photos are absolutely gorgeous. You are 1 very lucky person to have done the travelling that you have. Chris
12th September 2009

Beautiful
I guess I'm lucky to travel. It keeps me going. Keep tuned for more adventures, Dawn

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 24; qc: 106; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb