Puerto Varas - The lakes district, Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Puerto Varas
February 11th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Volcan OsornoVolcan OsornoVolcan Osorno

Puerto Varas
I arrived in Puerto Montt mid afternoon and catch a bus straight to the small town of Puerto Varas about 30min away. Every summer, this staid and manicured former German colony is besieged by visitors (international backpakers and chilians alike). This quant little town is set on the shores of Lake Llanquihue, and on a clear day you have arresting lake views of Volcan Osorno. While the town is rapidly growing and there are possibilities to hike, kayak, fish and ski, it still remains a sleeply little town, and has a long way to go to match Argentina´s Bariloche.

I only had a couple of days in Puerto Varas before heading back into Argentina. I was really keen to do some kayaking on the Lakes, but unfortunately no tour operator would sell me a tour as there was only one of me (min two person for a tour). I couldn´t even join a tour to the famous Island of Chiloe! This really was a sleepy little town.

I did manage to meet up with another guy from the hostel and we went on a day hike around Volcan Osorno. The trail wasn´t maked very well, and it took us about half an hour just to find the trail head. Once we were hiking we had magnificant views of the Volcano and the surrounding Lakes.

The next day we decided to go zip lining in the canopy above Puerto Varas. We hiked up the hill overlooking the town and found the zip line operator. After a brief demonstration we were hooked up to the wires and off we went. It was really cool fun to be zipping in and out of the trees.

To get from Puerto Varas to Bariloche in Argentina I had two choices. I could either take a regular bus, or I could take a combination of buses and ferries that herd vistitors from Puerto Varas across Lago Todos Los Santos and the Andes to Bariloche. I decided to go for the bus ferry options, as even though it is expensive I had been told the the views were amazing (if you get a clear day). So after paying an arm and a leg for my ticket, the next morning I headed off early on the first bus. In total I took four buses and three ferries. I was so fortunate to get absoltely perfect
The boat ride The boat ride The boat ride

An interesting way to drop of passengers
weather and even though it was a very long day I was glad I had chosen this option as the scenery was breathtaking. The colours of the lakes, trees and mountians were so bright and clear. It really was an amazing day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The boat ride The boat ride
The boat ride

Hey mum - look at me and the volcano!!
Our really well marked trail Our really well marked trail
Our really well marked trail

You have got to be kidding me??!!
Zip liningZip lining
Zip lining

Here comes Steve
Zip liningZip lining
Zip lining

The view over Puerto Varas
Puerto VarasPuerto Varas
Puerto Varas

Blue, blue river water
The boat ride The boat ride
The boat ride

One of our ferries


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb