Fantastic!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Easter Island
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Moai!Moai!Moai!

Bit lonely this one though.
Well, I made it here!! And it´s pretty spectacular. It was quite windy yesterday, and as the huge waves battered the coast, it really felt as if I was thousands of miles from anything. Which I am. The rock heads I´ve seen so far are every bit as impressive and absurd as expected too.

Apparantly people arrived here about 800AD. How?!! About 700 years before some guy who thought the world was round found the world´s current favourite troublemakers, some other equally crazy people travelled even further to find a bit of rock. And not even the stuff from the seaside that you can eat, either. Why?!!

Ah well, they did. And now so did I. Except I fly, and the captain knew where it was. Luckily.

Not so luckily, the weather turned awful over night. I´d really have struggled to sleep in my tent had I been in it instead of partying down at the Island´s disco.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

More Moai!More Moai!
More Moai!

Some are more friendly then others I guess.
Waves!Waves!
Waves!

Louis´ll love that one!!


17th July 2006

You and the bloody sea!
You are obsessed with the sea I swear! I find the Moai rather creepy! If they were not made of rock it would be them preventing me sleeping if Iwas there!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb