Last Day and Flight to Santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Easter Island
October 13th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sob! My last day on Easter Island and the plane was due to depart at 1310. I jumped out of bed for possibly the first time since I was a child and raced about, packing up.

Packed up, I took the jeep for a last drive round Hanga Roa, just taking photos. I had time to visit the Museum for some more culture and background on the sites I had visited over the past few days. Went back to Tahai for a last look-round the place before moving down to the Harbour and its´single Moai.

As promised, I filled the jeep´s petrol tank right up and returned it to the hotel car park for the chap to collect it.

At the airport, it took next to no time to check in, and at the same time, the check-in lady sorted out my flight for Buenos Aires the next day. All the formalities completed, I headed to the bar for a last Easter Island cerveza.

Just before the inbound plane was due to land, I managed to slip out the bar to the grassy bank by the side of the runway to watch the incoming Boeing 767 land. All too soon the Boeing taxied to a halt and threw out the passengers. It was time to leave the Island. Sob.

Because the wind was behind the plane, it took nearly a whole half hour off the flight, but I still had time to watch Harry Potter & The Order of the Phoenix from start to finish - I had already seen it 3 times on the LAN flights, but I hadn´t seen nearly enough of the delicious Mr Alan Rickman.

After a further dose of Mr Rickman on some film I´ve never heard of and had no idea what it was about, we landed at Santiago and before I knew where I was, I was at the airport hotel for the night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb