Flying Solo


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Villarrica Volcano
November 18th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One of my FavoritesOne of my FavoritesOne of my Favorites

Just waiting for the ferry to take us North and to the warm weather
Amy left the beginning of the week to head back to the States so I am once again on my own. This past week has been super relaxing and the warm weather and sunshine have been a nice change. After rafting in Futalafu we came north to the small surf town of Pichilemu. The coast was beautiful and we were blessed with a small apartment where the owner spoke English and made us amazing meals almost every night. After a day or two of laying on the beach we decided that we would try our hand at a new sport and take surf lessons. So the next morning we suited up and were sent out to the beach with our instructor (who had never taught a lesson before but was the only one who spoke enough English). The morning went well, Amy was hit in the head by her board but she quickly came back out to the water and kept working at it. After an hour break for lunch we once again struggled into our wetsuits and went back out. Within the first five minutes I made my big mistake and the wave caught my board and slammed it back into my face. I made my way back to the beach with blood pouring from my nose. Chaos quickly followed and within a few minutes I found myself, for the second time, in a hospital in South America. Thankfully the only injury was a fractured nose and the only prescription was 15 days of no surfing. A few days later Amy tried again and got up while I watched from the beach.

Since my plans for staying in Pichilemu and learning to surf were cancelled I decided to head out the same day that Amy left. A few more long hours on a bus and I am now in Pucon. Pucon is a beautiful town in the Lake District of Chile and while I have been here the weather has been amazing and I have fully enjoyed my time. Thursday I went with a group to hike the local active volcano and got to see a couple great erruptions (although the sulfer burned my nose and throat and I couldn´t stay at the top too long) and coming down was so much fun! By sliding on your rear, using your ice axe as a break, the five hour climb becomes a one hour descent. The following day was spent at the natural hot springs and today I was able to hike to the waterfalls of the national park in the area.

Tomorrow I head back north and plan to again hit up the beach and work really hard on my tan. Only 16 days left and my I am struggeling with mixed emotions. I am excited to come home and see those I love but it will be so hard to leave this place and the culture of South America.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



18th November 2006

hey molly--amazing adventures you've had! i've enjoyed reading. ahhh...being hit in the face with the surfboard is exactly why i quit trying to learn. I can't surf...says the san diego native :(
19th November 2006

Hey Girl!!! How is your nose?? was surfing great...before your nose being broken. what awesome pic!! I'm looking forward to talking to you when you get back!!! have fun!! love, Brig:)
19th November 2006

Don't make me cry!
Hi Mol, I have mixed emotions just reading your entry! I am so glad you have had such a great experience. I know you will treasure the memories forever. I do miss you and look forward to you being at least a little closer! I am proud of you and your journey. You have a courage that I lack and envy. Enjoy you last few days! Love ya, Lori
19th November 2006

ONce again you amaze me Molly! The things you have done in 5 months are incredible, I can't wait to hear the stories first handed! I'm sure you'll have quite a culture shock comming back to the states! Well I love ya girl! Talk to you soon!
19th November 2006

Wild Thing!!
YOU ARE CRAZY!! Can you imagine John Bellig doing the trip your're doing? hahaha. What a wonderful experience. . . great material for a book, if you need something to do when you get home. I think you definitely have the travel bug. . . It will be interesting to see what God has for you in the future. . I'm sure it will be exciting, since He knows you so well. Love, Susan
23rd November 2006

You gotta love that surfing!
So much for the great surfing, but at least you have had one amazing adventure over the past 6 mos. I bet it is going to be hard to want to make the next transition - but it will be amazing in its own way too. (Eph. 3:20 - "now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us". All my love and prayers, Jacque

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb