Surviving the Favala Tour


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
June 28th 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ok. So it's 4am as I lie in bed listening to what sounds like machine gun fire from a nearby Favela. And in 6 hrs time, I'm taking Tricia and the boys into "Rocinha", Rios largest favela, housing 300,000 people.
Our guide, Zezinho, arrives 45mins late. And at first sight I think, bloody hell I'm safer in any favela than I am befriending this guy. Tattoos up to his balls and dressed like a tramp. We go, we learn, we enjoy, we still alive, we safe, and you know what, he's a good guy and everyone we met were unbelievably friendly. Back safe in apt, enjoying Italy 2-0 v Germany, and will go out to bar for 2nd half. Tonight.... Who knows


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb