Sao Paolo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo
February 26th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sao PaoloSao PaoloSao Paolo

Ave Paulista, the high street in one of the worlds largest cities
I said a final farewell to my room mates who I had shared with for the tour, and got a taxi from the hotel at 7am to the International Airport. It was a horrible feeling to leave Rio and my friends, especially as I was missing out on the Sambadrome that night, but I had to move on. The flight over the city was again a breathtaking sight, and it didn't take much time at all to reach Sao Paolo, under an hour.

I watched some English football highlights in the airport, then put my bags in Lockers, and decided to get a bus in to the town to have a look around. I got there at 1pm, and to the main high street Avenue Paulista. Sao Paolo is apparently one of the largest Cities in the world, and Brasil's finance capital. There are many skyscrapers along Paulista, and it looks very financial. I phoned my friend, the guitar player form Parati, Marcelo, who lived here, and we met up and he showed me around the City. It was Sunday and most places closed, but for a large City, it seemed pretty quiet, and not as exciting as Rio. But
Sao Paolo CathedralSao Paolo CathedralSao Paolo Cathedral

The gothic cathedral in Sao Paolo, Brasil
how can you compare, not really fair too. We visited the main Cathedral which is gothic and impressive, and the China town of the City.

Then I caught the bus back to the airport and said farewell to Marcelo. The drive to the airport was fantastic, again the City all lit up, big buildings on the horizon. In the airport I looked around, got a bite to eat and waited for my flight to Lima, which departed at 6am, and then another flight on to my next destination, San Jose, Costa Rica.

This marks the end of the South America stage of my tour. It has been an amazing experince, so many diverse things from Lima in Peru, to Rio in Brasil. Have seen a lot, and met some fantastic people. I would recommend coming to this region any day.

Onwards........!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb