Florianopolis


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Santa Catarina » Florianópolis
November 8th 2008
Published: November 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, I’m on my buy 5 get one free Day at the backpacker sunset hostel in Florianopolois. I doubt I’ve been this chilled out ever must be something to do with the hammock (though the lads in the dive club will tell you I’m all ready down with that) The view is class and the guests and the staff are similarly laid back. It’s been a wrench to get out of the hammock but I’ve managed to give surfing a go and wakeboarding a try. Surfing is definitely harder than it looks - going to have to get a lot fitter to get anyway good at that. However I’m all over having my fat ass towed behind a boat (after the tenth attempt involving hitting the water at full speed using different parts of my body as the brake, I´m waiting for a colossal bruise to appear on my right buttock and the experts say my testicles will gradually make their way down from my lung cavity given enough time 😊) Having nothing better to do during my convalescence I thought I’d give sandboarding a go - now there-s a sport dreamed up by sadists. After risking a total skin removal and ankle realignment you get to trek back up a bloody huge dune while the wind sandblasts your bloody flesh - I’m having a fantastic time now I’ve realised that the adrenalin released in extreme sports is required to disguise all the pain involved. Hence the reason half the day is spent in the hammock. The weather is pretty good with most of the rain falling at night during lightning storms. I watched fork lightning hit the sea in front of the hostel about half a km away - It was bloody amazing - Ive never seen it so close. ´There were muppets still canoeing out there! …I couldn't get hold of a canoe 😊
Day 7 here - the partying is taking its toll - A forro night on Tuesday , Reggae concert on Wednesday, party here on Thursday, Clubbing at the conveniently located club next door - the only hurdle is getting down the 90 steps last thing at night in the dark - the hostels only drawback.
There are two hostels run by the same owners so nights are spent at one or the other for large meals - last nights fish supper was followed by cheesy karaoke and then clubbing and thew 4am totter down the stairs - the caipirinhas are deadly. Off to porto allegre soon for a break from the hedonism - later 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



11th November 2008

Photo 19 - its for me isn't it?
Hi, well you've found civilisation and no doubt your liver is taking a beating! Have a ball. Ellie xx PS LOVE the cat tattoo
12th November 2008

!!ALAN!!
Das ist ja wohl unglaublich! Was treibst du da? Regards, Fräulein Anja

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb