Foz dÍguacu


Advertisement
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first go in Leito bus started the trip from Marias place in Curitiba. I left there with a warm fuzzy feeling from being looked after and cared for like I was a prodigal son. Leito buses are basically night buses which carry half the passengers as the seats lie practically flat when you push them back. They are twice the price but I haven´t decided if they are worth the money as I havent exactly slept like a log on them. They are like being in one of those virtual funfair rides (it´s dark and all the curtins are drawn)where you are thrown about but the rollercoaster screen is turned off - for that matter so are the TV´s that are supposed to show videos. Anyhoo I arrived bleary eyed in Foz and thwarted the taxi drivers attempt to rip me off and made it to Pousada evelina for 8 am which was handy as there was a tour heading off to the argentinina side of the falls at 9 so after a quick brerakfast I was off - barely noticed that I´d passed into Argentina as Graciella handled all the bureaucracy side of it.
The tour consisted of a jeep ride followed by a boat ride up the river into the falls , and then just travelling about the place for different areas of the falls and a train ride back - it had been raining for the previous three days but we lucked out witha fantastically hot 35 C day and the falls were more impressive for the recent rain fall - burnt my neck as the trip under the falls washed me sun cream off .
Hard to put into words how impressive the falls are and how beautiful the park is - the boat ride was class - you get totally soaked so the camera housing came in handy. The noise and power leaves you awestruck. Walking around the falls is like being in a Walt Disney film where the animator has a butterfly fetish but even that can´t describe how many there are - I´m guessing that the guys at the boat station have a good laugh at the tourists as there´s a point near the mooring where there are just millions at I presume a salt lick where the guys at the station have a whizz 😊 As you walk about you are likely to have a few different species on you licking your sweat! Handy for photo´s - Iguanas were out in force after having their butts drowned for the previous few days so they were sunbathing all over the place - Some of the smalller lizards showed signs of close attention from tourists by their missing tails! A feeding caipibara and several coati rounded off the wild life though caymans were also spotted that day and ocelets and jaguars have been seen too.
After having taken only a couple of photos up to this weekend I managed to fill about 5gb´s so some people are going to be sick of waterfall shots. Stay tuned for even more photos of falls from the Brazillain side - I know you can't wait. In Florianopolis now and had my first go on a board ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



4th November 2008

I loved Iguacu
HI, just looking at your photos and rememebr when Jan and me were there - it's totally magically - a big garden of Eden. Hugs xx

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb