white boy with the white shoes


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
March 15th 2006
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CheersCheersCheers

Sister Whitney and Ashley enjoying Caipirinhas on Ipanema beach. Caipirinhas are the national drink made of of cachaca(a local rum), limes, sugar, and crushed ice.
What's up everyone,
Sorry about the lack of blogging but it's amazing how south american laziness can be so time consuming. I have been here a week and have pretty much just been surfing, eating, taking naps, going out at night, and spending time relaxing on the beach. I know, I know, it's a tough life.

Everyone talks about the crime in Rio, but I have never personally witnessed any in my previous time here. That is until a few nights ago when a couple of friends and I were walking out by the beach/bar area in Copacabana. It was kinda late and about 15 street kids between the ages of 6-15 swarmed us trying to take any possesions we had. I had some money in my pocket and a beer in hand and was somehow successfully able to preserve both. My friend was not so lucky as he lost a bracelet. The whole scene was prety ridiculous as it was right in front of about 30 people and a cop who was a dead ringer for the famous soccer player Ronaldo. Well it was a good lesson learned but kind of socially depressing nonetheless.

On a more positive
mmmm....cheap brazilian surfboardsmmmm....cheap brazilian surfboardsmmmm....cheap brazilian surfboards

Bought a surfboad the other day, they are a lot cheaper down here and good quality.
note, the rest of the time here has been all mash potatoes and gravy as you probably already assumed from my list of activities. The sun is pretty brutal down here and the Brazilians seem to enjoy gawking at my whiteness......I like to think I'm just exotic.

I'll probably be doing more touristy stuff in the following days with my family and my sister's friends so I will include some of those types of pictures in my next blog. For now you'll just have to settle with a random hodge podge of pics I took on my sister's camera because mine seems to be having troubles.

Oh yeah, the picture of the shoes has a funny story behind it. I took my old adidas shelltoes to get cleaned the other day. My portuguese is strictly functional but not even that sometimes. Anyway, I asked the guy in the shoe repair place to just clean them and he kept saying "sim, sim, branco, branco" which means "yes, yes, white, white"
Well you would think he would make the already white shoes even whiter by cleaning them, right? Nope, this dude paints them white instead! The shoes were old and
go away cloudsgo away cloudsgo away clouds

This is Ashley and Elliot. Have been surfing around Rio with Ashley this week.
the whole situtation so ridiculous that I couldn't help but be amused. My sister's friend actually picked them up and she said the guy was totally trashed. That's weird and crazy South America for you.

Ok, that's it for now but I'll be sure to write another update in the following few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Belated CarnavalBelated Carnaval
Belated Carnaval

We bought a bunch of cheap Carnaval costume stuff cuz it was so cheap and funny. This is my sister's friend Elliot.
More CarnavalMore Carnaval
More Carnaval

Ashley, my cousin Drew, and I with more ridiculous Carnaval costumes.
amigosamigos
amigos

Our Brazilian friends Pedrinho and Angela. Pedrinho is the chef and co-owner of a great restaurant nearby our appartment. I don't know what he's doing to me here.
wowwow
wow

Hopefully this picture will come out ok but can you believe this guy? He even painted the shoelaces. It's also starting to chip.


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb