How i wound up in Rio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
July 22nd 2007
Published: July 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, okay. I know I made a big fuss about everyone signing up for the blog and now I haven't written anything. The trip started without much to say, then it picked up so much speed I have too much to write to even start. I'll try and keep it in bite/sized chunks *and you will have to excuse the punctuation, I dont know where anything is on this keyboard.

So, THE BEGINNING. I got to LAX around 10 pm, so I guess it was 33 hours later when I got out of the airport, into the dark drizzle of Sao Paulo. Since nothing was open really, I took my stuff to a cafe and had a little tiny coffee *cafezinho* while I tried to understand what was going on in the news... it seems the plane crashed sometime within those 33 hours of travel, at the domestic airport in Sao Paulo. Once i heard that, I knew I should get in touch with my parents right away, so I took my entire backpack and started wandering around downtown looking for an internet place that was open... which took about 2 hours. It was sort of nice sightseeing- some of the buildings are beautiful, if dirty, and everyone I talked to was very nice.

By 11 am, I had wandered enough to decide *I dont like cold and rainy...Im outta here* so I took the metro (which, oddly, was one thing I really wanted to see in Sao Paulo, I heard they were really cool but it was pretty much just decorated in weird 70sh art, i didnt see the big deal) to the bus station and 20 minutes later, i was 6 hours away from Rio. The busses are pretty nice, they even give you a little bag of snacks! We got in pretty late// haha, it was actually like 6 pm, but it was dark already and i was tired! so all I really did was go to the grocery store and ogle the strange and exotic fruit, and go to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.8kb