2014 World Cup - Day 21 - Belo Horizonte to Rio de Janeiro


Advertisement
Published: July 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Belo Horizonte to Rio de Janeiro


Today was a travel day back to Rio de Janeiro. I had to be at the airport, which is located about 1 hour north of Belo Horizonte, at 10:30am, so I got up extra early today. I grabbed a bus to the much smaller airport that is located in the city and from there an express bus to the International Airport. I got there at 9:15am or so because I got quite lucky with all my buses. While checking in for my 11:42am, I asked if there was an earlier flight and the lady then put me on the 9:42am flight giving me 2 more hours in Rio. Sweet!!!

After a nice and quick flight, I grabbed my ticket to the Final at the Santos Dumont airport in Rio. Then I grabbed a bus to Leme and put my stuff in Bruno’s apartment. Little Nina, Bruno’s almost-3-year-old daughter was quite happy to see me, asking me where I was, what I did, etc... Then she wanted to go with me shopping. haha

During the afternoon, I went after Fluminense jerseys for Janel and Owen. I first hit up the Rio-Sul Shopping Centre and had no luck. After calling around town, I decided to go to a Shopping Centre on the north part of town, which required me to take a bus back to Copacabana and then a subway up north past the Maracana stadium. I took me an hour to get there, but it was a nice way to spend the afternoon. I found a few things at this mall that I liked, so all in all a good idea going up there. I had considered going to Barra da Tijuca, which is a part of Rio that takes about an hour or so to get to that I was hoping to avoid going to today.

On the way back home, I visited the FIFA Store in Copacabana again and bought a small soccer ball for Owen, whether he likes it or not. Haha A lot of the items in the store are half-price, especially items tied to the World Cup mascot. There’s still plenty of traffic in the store and I’m sure that will increase as the Final game approaches. With Argentina in the Final, it is estimated that over 70000 Argentines will make their way to Rio for this weekend. They are camping all over town, including all over Leme and Copacabana beaches. They park their cars on the street and sleep in their vehicles. During the day, you can see them drying clothes, towels, eating food and playing music by their cars. Argentines are taking over Rio.

Late at night, Bruno and I headed to a nearby restaurant for dinner. At a nearby table, a group of about 10 Belgians were looking for some help ordering their food. So I went up there and ordered 3 pizzas for them. Nice folks.

My experience in Rio has sort of changed my opinion of the city a bit. Whenever friends tell me they want to go to Brazil and want to visit Rio, I tell them not to go because it’s dangerous and that they will likely be robbed. I see tons and tons of foreigners here every day on the beach, at the mall, and I can spot them just as easily as the locals can probably. I know I’m seen as a foreigner myself because I don’t look “Brazilian”, and when I start talking, people are usually surprised; some have thought I was from Argentina!!!! Haha



Tomorrow, not much planned, so we’ll see what I come up with.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb