sandy sandy beaches


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Lapa
December 6th 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 - Ipanema Beach



So, rob burned his feet! ha...! second day in, first on any sort of beach - it had to happen really, didn't it! 2 white british kids in 25 C heat, that's the rules surely... Marco Sparco here on the other hand was a bit wiser however...Only the tops of my feet were slightly scorched, T-Shirt on - i've got anoher 362 days to work on my tan!!!

Ipanema beach was beautiful. Waves crashing literally 10 metres from the waters edge - you can't go too far in though, or you'll die basically! but you're barely lookin at the waves because you too busy staring at all the beautiful girls in bikinis! drool drool drool...5 / 6 hours of that carry on would do any man harm!! Eventually draging our asses from the shore, and laughing at rob's inability to walk, we went in search for after sun! ...chemist...deal...done! Rock any one...? Shall we just sit here for 30 minues and watch he sunset over Rio, mountains risin in the distance and evening mist circling aroud the horizon with Christ watching down on us (who I still havn't met - but in time) - yeah, why not!! Only on this trip a handful of days, and already time has stood still on a number of occasions...

Day 4 - friday night LAPA street party



Bought a camera today, time to record some memories, and attach it to my body surgically on a piece of iron string!!! but todays entry is all about the nightime...Its really not worth telling you abou the central busines district and my mission to find a cashpoint - So we'll leave that one out for now!

LAPA LAPA LAPA...amazing place, you really have to experience this before you die! I would publish photo's, but there was no camera...my pocket was touched up numerous times - no point in bringing any valuables! You get off the minibus to absolute pandemonium (for want of a better word!)...drums bangin, people dancing round the streets, taxis and cars everywhere, beer beer beer - just under 2 pound for 3 cans! - this place is nuts!! We dandered around as much as we could, just don't wander too far off the beaten track...he he he...At least with 3 people you can take it in turns to be paranoid and freak each other out! And don't buy the chewing gum off the little street kids, they come up dropping their wee faces and you can't walk away...my pockets were full by the end of the night! The music takes you in with the atmosphere and you bounce you little feet off the cobbled street, trying to stay standing upright after all that beer and tequila! Mainly just brazilian drums banging chah chah and some dude screaming into a microphone with an amplifier powered by a car battery - unreal!

where are my feet? how many beers have I had? What time is it again? 5 30 you say...TAXI?!?!? where are we again? other side of the city...o dear, this will be expensive!....
hang on, there's a minbus with copacabana in the windscreen. Lets jump on that for free...BONUS!...home please jeffrey!

And when we got home, the biggest bonus of all awaits....

SUNRISE

I really can't stress enough how unbelievably awesome and gobsmackingly beautiful sunrise on capacabana beach is. At around 6 o'clock this morning, I was standing in my boxers... in the sea...hands stretched out each side staring into the ocean with 10ft waves crashing 20 metres in front of me!...I mean...you can't buy this in any shop - anywhere!...For 5 minutes, there was nothing else in the world, nothing mattered, it was just me on the beach with the sun rising to my left and misty covered mountains to my right. Rio behid me.... On top of the world? I was on the moon! i want to do this on every beach across the world....and I promise I'll try to provide accompanying photos.

Although my head hurts now - but it was worth it!!!

see you all soon......



Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb