I'm in Rio de Janeiro - Ahhhhh!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Botafogo
February 16th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,

I promised I'd try to make them short but I don't think I can. If you don't read it - I won't be offended!

Rio is amazing! It's taken me a few days to get used to it and relax a little (but not too much dad) but I'm loving it here!

My hotel does not look like it does on the internet... It's an area that is described as up and coming! So in Rio that translates as buzzing but don't walk around on your own at night! To be fair that applies anyway in Rio. I've been spending most of my time with guys I met on the plane Matt and Henry - didn't know each other either. Both really nice and looked out for me in the airport when I went to get my transfer - bless them as they're both younger than me! But it worked out that they're in the same hostel and so I've been part of the furniture there and I think the receptionists think that I'm staying there too. So, although the running joke is that my hotel is in a favela, I do feel quite privelidged when the guys in the hostel go back to their six bed dorms and I go back to my double bed, air conditioned room with a nice hot shower and toilet to myself - hey ho!

So met loads of people at the hostel, mostly people travelling alone lots of girls just like me and I've also got chatting to people in the hotel now too. Lisa and Drum get here today so probably do a bit of exploring with them tonight.

Went to Cristo Rendentor (statue of christ) yesterday and took some cheesey photos with Henry's camera with my arms out in the air (to follow soon). To get to the top we took the tram which was quite an experience and got a great view on the way up. A little different to the Croydon ones ladies... Then to the botanical gardens and saw every type of palm tree known to man. Then a walk along the beach with more thongs and speedos than you've ever seen in your life!

Out tonight with a big group from the hostel to enjoy my first experience of carnaval! Can't wait!

I'll try and make the next few entries a little more interesting and include some photos when I eventually take my camera out with me!

Keep the emails coming people!
lol
Mac xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb