I tried to be like Grace Kelly


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Since we last updated the blog, we have been pretty busy. We started school and have been having some intense Portuguese lessons (yet I still don't know how to properly spell Portuguese...le sigh). School is pretty cool. The first day was terrible because we had to wake up at 5 am US time and were forced to go to a math class with a really awkward group. Our first class was fun but too early, so we ditched them and found a better class (don't worry, we didn't really ditch, we just decided that we liked the other guys better). The other class is an AP English class with high school seniors. A lot of them have traveled to countries in North America for exchange programs and can speak extremely well. We made a lot of friends, but we only remember one of their names because the other names were uncommonly pronounced (to us). Plus, introductions were casual and we didn't want to ask again or make an effort to pronounce the names.
Today we went to teach little kids English. The program is called God's Children and it is a program that helps impoverished kids. The language division is run by the school that we take our Portuguese classes in. There were about ten kids in our class and they will finish their level in three weeks. Their ages ranged from six to twelve. The school was nicely located, right down the block from the local prison.
We have recently become fans of Mika, a British Pop-Rock singer who is pretty cool and most likely gay, which makes him all the more cool. His voice is very good, he can sing in five octaves easily and switches from octave to octave with frightening speed. Listen to his song Grace Kelly here .

We saw Shrek 3 yesterday. We forgot that the entire thing would be in Portuguese. It was slightly boring, however we were fortunate enough to have sat behind a highly amusing toddler with a lot of energy and an addiction to popcorn (pipoca). He would frequently sing the following song...

I like popcorn
I like eating popcorn with my mouth open
My dad bought me popcorn
*points to father*
We drove in his car
I like popcorn
Someone hit our car (BOOM)
*acts out a car crash*
My dad ran after our popcorn
I like to eat dental floss
*shows us his dental floss*

After the movie we ate these things that are like hot pockets only good and with no cheese. They're called Pastels and are typical food here. When we went home we watched an intense game of soccer between Brazil and Argentina. They are major rivals. It was the South American champoinship. We lost.

Tomorrow we're going to school and then to a party for the holiday, Sao Joao. People dress up like farmers. It's pretty chill.

PEACE
Lilly and Sara


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



22nd June 2007

Grace Kelly was my idol
Today in the paper there was an article about Grace Kelly's children (Caroline, Albert and Stephanie) commemorating the anniversary of her death -- and now here you are with a blog named after her. Whoa! I think it would be a good song for us to dance to at Camp McGuthrie, don't you? It all sounds very fun. We miss you! Love
22nd June 2007

Insanity
I think "Insanity" is my fav, although the butterfly photo runs a close second. And like the comments suggest, I think Mika is channeling Freddy Mercury. Fun video.
22nd June 2007

you are insane
but fortunately also amusing. Ana and I are also off to an exotic destination today - Springfield Illinois - with her girl scout troop no less. Far more chic than boring Brazil. Hugs and Kisses.
22nd June 2007

awesome
Hi cutie! Sounds like you are having a great time - this will really pave the way for future experiences abroad. I am jealous - I would love to see Brazil. My most favorite music in all the world comes from there. I've been to Buenos Aires, and man that was quite an experience. Bring home a Brazil jacket for me! :) gooooooooooooooooooooooooool!!!!!!!
23rd June 2007

Having fun
Sounds like a great trip; I'm glad you're having such an adventure. Today I went to a wild animal park and fed leaves to a giraffe. You are having amazing adventures. Love, Less

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb