1st cap


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pantanal
August 28th 2006
Published: August 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lucy forgot to mention I was called up to represent my country whilst in the Pantanal. I tried not to get too overwhelmed making my debut against Brazil away but ultimately there was little I could do to prevent a 5-3 shock defeat. The shock wasnt we lost but that Brazil played long-ball! I would like to say it was one of the proudest moments of my life to pull on that Engalnd jersey and run out in front of a packed house but as we had to play ¨skins¨ and the crowd buggered off as soon as the lunch bell was rung it would be a lie. That is except one hilarious Brazilian who made the joke about the English needing sun-tan cream every two minutes. Maybe I should have took some notice as by evening time my skin was glowing an angry scarlet.

In summary our list of excuses on throwing away a 3-2 lead include the heat of playing at midday, (standard English excuse) they knew the bobbly pitch better, we would have battered them in on a muddy English January pitch, they made us whiteys play skins, they cheated (nice and simple excuse), their keeper was too good and my personal favourite - we had to play into the sun (bear in mind the game was at midday). A dark day for football, bad losers and a long-ball Brazil, I loved every minute of it.

Advertisement



1st September 2006

The trick
Well that sounds like a great football game but r u sure its not a trick? The locals humiliate and burn the tourists in order that they can b identified by thieves. They leave the game disorientated and vulnerable!
8th September 2006

Last Cap
Jon, it sounds like you should have kept your hat on during this game. Not to protect what's left of your "strawberry blondeness" but so that after the game you could have hidden your face in shame at letting your Country down!!! Personally I don't remember ever embarrasing my country whilst overseas..... Apart from that week in Ibiza a few years ago obviously!!! Keep it up Guys. Looks brilliant!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb