The Pantanal


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Mato Grosso » Pantanal
November 14th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I finally made it to Brazil. As soon as I arrived to Corumba I bought a tour the Pantanal. Although it was a bit disappointing as I was expecting a lot more jungle exploring and a lot less silly activities such as tubing, which involves floating in the river on a tyre, my first impression of the country is definitely positive. What makes the difference is the friendliness of the people. On the first night of the tour our guide sat with us after dinner and played some Brazilian songs on guitar. What a change from the Uyuni tour, where our guide was practically mute.

The other big plus is the standard of accomodation and food. When I saw my room in the hotel I could not believe it. My roomates must have thought I was weird when I marvelled at the sight of a toilet roll in the bathroom but try find a hostel which has toilet paper in the bathroom in Bolivia. Actually try to find one with a bathroom. All you get is two cubicles, on with a toilet and the other with a shower, which may or may not have hot water.

Aside from the tubing, activities in the Pantanal included piranha fishing, boat trips, horse riding and a small walk in the jungle where you are eaten alive by mosquitos. And yes, I did use insect repellent, it is totally useless. You may as well save the planet and leave that at home.

Three days in the Pantanal and then off to Bonito.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb