Im a celebrity


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 242 - Monday 19 May

I'd managed to get 12 hours sleep in, but it was still only half nine when I woke up. With a few hours still to go, there wasn't much else to do but stare out of the window. Beats working I suppose and theres nice views of the countryside.

It turns out the bus was running 2 hours late so in the end it took 23 hours to reach Campoo Grande from Rio although i've crossed a timezone somewhere as i've gained an hour back. As im only staying the one night I checked myself into the hostel directly accross the road from the bus station. At 25 Reis (8 quid), its the cheapest i've paid in Brazil, yet i've got my own room (fels like heaven), and a double bed all to myself. I can't remember when the last time I had a double bed all to myself. Its fantastic.

I went out to get lunch. Even though theres absolutely nothing to do in the town I really like it. Must be something to do with fact its a baking hot day and theres lots of good lucking girls walking about not wearing much. Generally I've not been too inpressed with the girls in Brazil, I expected a lot more but in my opinion they're quite plane and average. However Campo Grande seems to be the exception.

As I was walking around town I kept getting stopped by girls who wanted to have their photo taken with me. I don't know if they mistook me for somebody famous, haven't seen a white bloke before or just think Im god dam sexy, but I wasn't complaining. You can't help but like a place when that happens to you. The only downside was that nobody speaks any English or Spanish.

After double checking my guide books, and asking at reception, there definitely aren't any late bars or clubs open on a monday night. Instead im having to stay in and can only wish i'd come here at the weekend. Mental note to self I've definitely got to returtn here when I come back to Brazil for the carnival.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb