A Taxi Ride to the Airport in Santa Cruz through the Countryside


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Santa Cruz Department » Santa Cruz
November 13th 2012
Published: November 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

In the Taxi on the way to the Airport in Santa Cruz, BoliviaIn the Taxi on the way to the Airport in Santa Cruz, BoliviaIn the Taxi on the way to the Airport in Santa Cruz, Bolivia

I was getting nervous about where the driver was taking me.
Yesterday when I arrived in Santa Cruz, Bolivia for an overnight transit en route to Paraguay I heard rumors about some sort of civil unrest to stop traffic scheduled for the next day, but I didn’t pay much attention it them. In the morning when I got into the taxi the driver said that the road to the airport was blocked, and he would take an alternate way to the airport.

He turned on a narrow side street which became a more narrow street then changed to dirt then changed to a lone lane track through the grassland. I started getting nervous then changed to frightened then changed to looking for a place to roll out of the taxi on some soft grass. I sized up the driver and realized that he was a pretty big tough guy. If he decided to whack me on the head he could probably do it. We passed farms with goats and skinny Holstein cows by the road and farmers in their gardens.

I started noticing that some of the cars coming the other way were airport taxis and became somewhat reassured that we were actually heading to the airport. Finally the airport
A One Lane Track Going to the AirportA One Lane Track Going to the AirportA One Lane Track Going to the Airport

The airport tower appeared in the distance.
tower came into view and we slipped into the back gate of the airport

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb