Beautiful Girls Everywhere


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 245 - Thursday 22 May

I've quite liked Brazil and its a bit sad to leave but everyone keeps raving about Bolivia so i'm looking forward to crossing the border later today.

After having breakfast we got ourselves a taxi to take us over the border. Although taxis are expensive in Brazil with scouse Gary also going to Santa Cruz today it works out not much more than getting the bus if we all jump into a taxi together. It also saves carring our bags for about half an hour in 30 degree temperatures to the bus stop.

First stop was Corumba bus station to call in at immigration and get my Brazilian exit stamp. I've heard stories of people getting fined for losing their entrance slip or overstaying their visa. Well you should cross the border at Corumba. The guy behind the desk didn't have a uniformm, instead he was wearing a dirty vest, a pair of shorts and flip flops, he also looked like he hadn't washed in a while. Secondly he didn't bother asking for my entrance slip, didn't check my photo, look for my entry stamp or bother to scan my passport. He just picked the first empty page he saw and stamped it.

After that the taxi carried on and dropped us off at the Bolivian border. Another short taxi ride later and we were in the town of Puerto Quijarro. From here were going to take the "Death Train"to Santa Cruz, it should be a change from buses. (People think its called the death train because its uncomfortable and the train shakes so much it feels like it might come off the rails and crash at any time, but the real reason is that it used to transport the dead bodies of people who'd died of yellow fever out of the quarantine zone). I love Bolivia already, its about a quater of the price of the rest of South America, so we splashed out and decided to travel first class (not as luxurious as you'd think), for only a few quid more. However as the train was mostly full, we couldn't get seats next to each other and are all going to have to sit next to a local Bolivian. It should be intersting to see who we get.

With a few hours to kill before the train leaves, I had a walk around the town. You certainly feel like your in the third world but I like it. The local girls also seem to like me too. Every time I walk past one they blush and give a shy smile. As I spent all my money buying my train ticket I needed to go to a bank so asked the locals where the nearest one was. Just dow the road they said its quite close. I think their definition of close is a bit different from mine. It was about two miles away in the next town. Not ideal when its now 32 degrees outside.

About 2 hours later when I finally returned I was almost dying from heat exhaustion. Everybody in Rio had been buying a pair of Havanas as they were only a fiver, compared to 35 quid back home. I'd resisted but as they're only a pound here I bought a pair.

Finally it was time to board the train. Whilst everybody was sat next to an old Bolivian man or woman, i've hit the jackpot. My seats next to a decent looking young girl. With Gary cursing away, I smiled and introduced myself. It turns out shes called Asunta, shes single, lives in Santa Cruz and is 22 years old. It feels like i've never been away and instantly my Spanish came back to me, so I ended up spending the next couple of hours chatting away to her. Im certainly making progress on the language front. I could also sense that there was a bit of a connection between us so i'm quite glad that the journeys about 16 hours long.

Unfortunately a few hours in, her older sister and her neice borded the train ad sat in the seat right behind us. Its going to make it a bit more difficult, but she was friendly enough and didn't seem to mind me flirting with Asunta. Finally the lights went out plunging the carriage into total darkness so everybody could go to sleep. I thought I had nothing to lose so decided to make a move. I'm glad I did as she responded well and certainly wasn't shy.

Day 246 - Friday 23 May

I've read a few internet blogs about the death train and people seem to be a bit negative about it, but I don't know what the fuss is all about, its the best train journey i've ever taken. We arrived into Santa Cruz 4 hours late just before lunchtime. I'd hoped to ask Asunta back to my hotel but unfortunately shes got to work this afternoon so i've had to settle for a phone number and email address and a promise of meeting up tonight. As her family were all waiting for her at the platform I also had the embarresment of them looking on when I said goodbye.

I'm probably jumping the gun a bit but everybody reckons im onto a sure thing so when we booked ourselves into a hotel I booked myself a double room, before heading out for lunch with everybody and a Belgium bloke from the hotel called Bart who both Russ and Gary have done a trip with previously. Once lunch was over Russ and Pa headed back to the hotel whilst I stayed for a few beers with Gary and Bart. It turns out that Bart has spent two years living in Bangkok so I got a lot of questions about Pa. I don't think he believes Russ'version of events. He also thinks Russ is mad for bringing her over. Thai girls just dont work outside of Asia, the culture is too different. From watching the two of them I have to agree.

As i'd only slept a couple of hours yesterday by mid afternoon I was flagging a bit so went to bed for a bit of a siesta. I'd arranged to call Asunta at 7 after she finished work, but unfortunately my mobile doesn't work out here. I can get a signal and a connection but for some reason can't dial or text. I eventually found a payphone but when I called her she didn't seem to be able to hear me. Bloody third world phone systems. I tried again but encountered the same problem.

Dissapointed as it looked like I was onto a good thing, I joined Gary and Bart for a night out in Santa Cruz. Maybe i'll get lucky elsewhere. I've been surprised by Santa Cruz. It looks like any other European city, not at all like the images you expect. Although it is supposed to be the richest city in Bolivia and as such they want independance from the rest of the country. The girls are absolutely beautiful too, certainly not like the travel photos I've seen of Bolivians.

Gary and Bart had planned to go to an area of bars a waitress had recommended to them when they'd had dinner, but when we tried to get a taxi there for some reason the police had closed off the streets nearby. It turned out that the taxi driver had spent four years living in New York when he was a teenager so took us to a bar he said was good and would be full of locals.

It turned out to be a great bar, dirt cheap and we were the only gringos in there. Infact the locals seemed surprised that we'd turned up. They were all friendly though and wanted to talk to us. It was here that I met Gloria. She was absolutely stunning and looked more European than South American. Infact she was so good looking she could easily have made it onto the cast of Hollyoaks. She'd turned up with some bloke who she says was only a friend, but being a bloke I know that the 'friend'was hoping one day for more. Rightly or wrongly I used the fact that im foreign to my advantage. We must have talked for about 2 hours which amazed me as I didn't know I knew that much Spanish. I thought I was doing really well, infact she even said she found me very attractive, but try as I might to get her back to my hotel she was having none of it. She said she wasn't that type of girl.

Day 247 - Saturday 24 May

I'd had a great night last night even though I'd ended up alone. I'd been drinking until half four in the morning yet the whole night including taxis had only cost me about 3 quid. I'd also spent most of it speaking the local lingo which I'm quite impressed about.

As it had been such a late night last night it was lunchtime before I woke up. I'd missed breakfast but Russ and Pa were heading out for lunch so I joined them. After lunch I caught up on my emails and sent Asunta an email. Maybe she'll see it before tonight. After another afternoon siesta, I joined Russ and Pa again for a trip to the central market to get dinner. It must have been a bit of a sight for the locals, a white man sitting on a plastic chair in the gutter by a street stall tucking into the local food. They were all certainly looking, especially the girls. I recognised the shy smile again. With tonight being a Saturday night, it could be a good night.

So myself, Russ, Pa, Gary and Bart all headed out for the night. After a beer near the hotel we got a taxi to a club Asunta had recommended to me. I'd mentioned it to a few locals last night and they'd all said it was good. Outside was a big street party. All the local teenagers park their cars on the street and pump the music out whilst drinking on the street. So rather than go straight to the club we had a few takeouts and a wander round.

We tried to get in the club but they wouldn't let Gary in as they said he wasn't smart enough. He and Bart said they'd try a nearby bar but as it looks both dead and rubbish, Russ, Pa and myself ditched them and headed into the club. It was just like a western club, so was obviously only for wealthy locals. Again heads turned as we walked in but in a good way. The only difference apart from the music was thats its table service, which is brilliant as you don't need to queue at a bar for ages.

I quickly got chatting to a blonde and a brunette girl sitting at the next table. It turns out that their Brazilian doctors working in Bolivia for a year. Their Spanish wasn't great but after muddling through the first 15 mins we seemed to be able to converse ok. Although they were both quite nice, I thought I heard the brunette tell her friend she liked me, so I concentrated my efforts on her. Job done Russ and Pa left me to it.

I was trying to get her back to my hotel but it was tough going. I finally thought I'd cracked it about half three in the morning when she grabbed my hand and said lets go. Unfortunately we just moved onto another club. A few more times I thought I was in but we only left to buy some chewing gum or go the ATM before returning.

Eventually it was six in the morning and closing time, but I only got as far as the taxi. She wants me to take her for dinner or the cinema. What is it with this place does nobody do anything short term.

Day 248 - Sunday 25 May

I'd only had a few hours sleep when I was awoken by Pa shouting at Russell. I felt ok so decided to get up. As I emerged from my door, Gary and Bart where also exiting their rooms. It seems Pa woke them as well.

I decided to Join them for breakfast and see how they'd got on last night. After they'd left us they'd gone to a few bars before hitting a strip club where thay had a run in with some fake police officers who wanted money off them (They told them to bugger off). They'd only got back just after seven so weren't too happy Pa had woken them with her screaming.

I've enjoyed Santa Cruz and got three phone mumbers in as many days, but as its a place thats going to be quiet during the week, I might as well move on. Its so cheap here I can easily come back next weekend. With Gary and Bart heading the same way as us, I joined them in a taxi to the bus station and we got our tickets to Sucre. We sat around for a few hours until 5pm, where we boarded the bus. After the train I'd deliberately chosen to sit on my own, however tonight I wasn't as fortunate. In the seat next to me was a bloke in his early 20's. Oh well only 15 hours to Sucre.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb