The Worlds Most Dangerous Road


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm Alive!

Today we biked down the Worlds Most Dangerous Road, yes...sounds scary doesnt it?...and it was. We biked down 64 km of road, most of it dirt and gravel, where the drop off is straight down hundreds of feet, basically if you go over the edge you are dead. Look it up on google, I will put pictures up in a few days I promise!

Anyways... 64 km is a long way, it was 5 hours of riding... I hadnt rode a bike in about 5 years too, so why not start up again on the worlds most dangerous road? To top off the huge drop offs and hairpin turns it was raining. Ive been bungee jumping and paragliding while down here, but theres no REAL danger in that, this though... it had the danger. One wrong move, hitting the wrong patch of gravel and you were a gonner. The scenery was amazing too, but its hard to take it all in while you are zooming down the road, staring death in the face. Dozens of people die on the road every year, thankfully everyone in our group lived! It was also foggy, which didnt help either. So 5 hours of riding and about 3 hours of squeezing on the breaks, my butt hurts, my hands hurt, Im not sure if I would do it again, but Im glad I did.

So I think I will spend a couple more days in La Paz, have some days to waste before I need to be in Cuzco. After La Paz I will head to Copacabana for a few days, then Puno, Peru for one or 2 and then I will settle down in Cuzco for 3 weeks. It will be strange to stay in one place for 3 weeks but it will be nice at the same time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb