Bienvenidos a Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
June 4th 2010
Published: June 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!
I hit the Bolivian land this morning at about 5:15am right in La Paz!
Just a quick update that I am safe, healthy (besides the shortness of breath) and oh so EXCITED!
The taxi drive into the city (which I learned has about 2 million people right in the central part-by my apartment) was absolutely breathtaking! (literally hahaha)
I have another AWESOME host family who were so welcoming even at 5 in the morning. 2 Parents and 2 children (boy-Jorge who just graduated from an engineering university and is working on his thesis before he starts work and Claudia who is an architect but instead has chosen to teach english to kids) >The parents own their own business and both work during the day.

For Andy: The food-WONDERFUL! Claudia made a boiled chicken and mashed potatoes for lunch (they were almost the consistency of malt-o-meal) but SO good, and then just a simple banana for dessert.
Jorge and I explored the city streets and I thought I was going to pass out from the lack of oxygen, but I have started my altitude medication so that should be taken care of very soon. Temp is about 60s-so very comfortable!

The city is sooooo great!! Hustle and bustle, crazy drivers, people EVERYWHERE! Only been here a couple hours and I feel as if I am at home 😊
Love from Bolivia Bear

Advertisement



4th June 2010

Ole!!!!!!!
Yey! I can't wait to see pictures!!!Congrats on being the first to hit South America!!! What it like to be basically on top of South America? I bet the view is amazing! I'm glad you liked your first meal... that is a sign of delicious things to come! Take it easy until those ole' swimming lungs kick in and get you more oxygen... .haha! Enjoy, enjoy, ENJOY!! So glad to hear you are there safe and sound and happy in what sounds like a pefect place for you to be. Wish I was there! Ciao!! :)
6th June 2010

Only hours there and 'home'?
In La Paz? Yeah,,,it's pretty cool, but just wait. If you like it this much already, you'd better get started with the paperwork needed to stay--just visiting Bolivia can be addictive all by itself--no drugs needed. I predict you might not ever want to leave Bolivia, especially once you have seen some of the rest of that incredible nation, and gotten to know more of her amazingly wonderful and hard-working people. Enjoy/experience it to the max while you can--it is like no other place on the planet... locoto

Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb