the Inca Quickstep


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
March 24th 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Feeling a little less than 100% after yet another bout of food poisoning. It´s raining out and there´s not a whole lot to do except read my Harry Potter book and update my Travelblog. Have finally gotten the official Death Road photos onto the computer. Ignore how bad I look - I was recuperating from my first dose of food poisoning at the time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

it´s like 5 degrees right now, and I´m in shortsit´s like 5 degrees right now, and I´m in shorts
it´s like 5 degrees right now, and I´m in shorts

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
don´t we all look happy?don´t we all look happy?
don´t we all look happy?

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
the view at the start (before it gets scary)the view at the start (before it gets scary)
the view at the start (before it gets scary)

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
the view at the start (before it gets scary)the view at the start (before it gets scary)
the view at the start (before it gets scary)

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
it gets a little steeper nowit gets a little steeper now
it gets a little steeper now

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
just about to collapse (after 20 minutes)just about to collapse (after 20 minutes)
just about to collapse (after 20 minutes)

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
did I sign my will before I left?did I sign my will before I left?
did I sign my will before I left?

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
just happy for a chance to rest my handsjust happy for a chance to rest my hands
just happy for a chance to rest my hands

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
a sobering reminder of the lives lost on this roada sobering reminder of the lives lost on this road
a sobering reminder of the lives lost on this road

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
just keep looking straight ahead ...just keep looking straight ahead ...
just keep looking straight ahead ...

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
don´t go off the side if you can help itdon´t go off the side if you can help it
don´t go off the side if you can help it

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
pausing for breath and a great viewpausing for breath and a great view
pausing for breath and a great view

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
water hazards on the Death Roadwater hazards on the Death Road
water hazards on the Death Road

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
you want us to go WHERE?you want us to go WHERE?
you want us to go WHERE?

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
are we there yet?are we there yet?
are we there yet?

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia
the cheapest way to wash a busthe cheapest way to wash a bus
the cheapest way to wash a bus

Death Road, outside La Paz, Bolivia


26th March 2006

altitude sickness is the pits
nice blog em, i see you've had alt sickness a bit, i had it 4 a week in the states once, not looking 4ward 2 that part of my own south am. trip at the end of the yr. keep bloggoin, its good to have current info on a place.
29th March 2006

ohmigod!
ohmigod! you really ARE a mad bugger, but what amazing pictures. You are going to have a brilliant photo board if you ever come home!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb