Getting Boliviano´d


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
March 30th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This entry is just a filler in, since nothing much happened.

I got to La Paz on Friday, and stayed in a huge hostel with many young people (read 20-25 british/australian hooligans). I looked forward to having a good night out, to doing what young people do.

I met many very nice people and it was very good to talk to them since many are on the South American trail down, and have done Machu Pichu and Lake Titikaka, and could give me some tips.

Going out on Friday night was fun, but I must add how horrified I was of being in La Paz. The drug scene here is outrages. Everyone is on coke, and I was utterly disappointed by the amount of people offering it to me. I went with some roommates to a night club, and the Belgium guy I had befriended told me I didn´t have to pay the taxi driver, since he had ´taken care of it´.

Again, Saturday night was the same story. Most of you know how little alcohol I can handle in general. Since I hadn´t had anything in over a month, my body just wasn´t used to it anymore, and I ended up with food poisoning (fever). Perhaps it was the unclean water used to make the ice ... not sure.

On Sunday night I went to a weird ´wrestling´ match (read: WWF style with lots of acting). It was so weird that I couldn´t stop taking pictures. Women in traditional dresses were wrestling each other, and even lifting the opposition and throwing her into the crowd. Then there were Ninja Turtle Wrestlers against other crazily dressed oppositions.

I have had my dose of partying and oddness in La Paz, and am only too happy to leave this place asap. I changed my mind, and will be on a bus tomorrow at 8am to Cusco (Peru), to climb Machu Pichu. I was going to go to Lake Titicaca from the Bolivian side first, but I have been informed that (once again) there will be road blocks nation wide in Peru due to social problems. Last week the road from La Paz to Cusco was blocked, so this seems to be a normal thing in Peru. I don´t want to get stuck, so I will leave ASAP to Cusco in case I´m blocked in. (People have been telling me to bring food and water in case the bus gets stuck for days up to weeks). oh dear.

Health: Needless to say, I think I got Boliviano´d!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb