la paz, tihuanaco & the death road


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
October 17th 2006
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

the metropolis of the andesthe metropolis of the andesthe metropolis of the andes

being situated around 3600m and higher it is difficult to breathe and very cold there - but amazing
From Copacapana it was an 4 hours busride to La Paz - the biggest city in Bolivia situated around 3600m high in the Andes on a marvelous plateau sourrounded by snow-covered mountains...
Arriving there I had to start to chewing coca-leafs and drinking coca-tea to adapt to the extreme altitude and cold temperature. Walking around in La Paz can be a hard task in the beginning because you get tired and exhausted so quickly. The first 3 days I went to bed at around 8 pm because it was so intense...
La Paz itself is hectic and huge, but very interesting to walk around and explore. Around the 4th day I made a one-day excursion to Tihuanaco - the most important bolivian archeological site - situated 50 km away from La Paz. Although guided badly and too much tourists there, it was a very interesting place from a highly developed pre-incan culture.
In the "oja de coca" restaurant I met Katha and Miri - to very smart students from Berlin. We explored a little the night-life of La Paz and visited a local market in the upper part (poor part) of La Paz where I nearly got robbed by trick-thieves...
Katha and Miri left to Chochabamba and I decided to drive down to Coroica in the Yungas via the "most dangerous road of the world" - a busdrive that defeat 2500m of altitude in 3 hours!
In the quiet little village Coroico I enjoyed pleasant semi-tropical temperatures and green nature for 3 days before I made my way back up into the high Andes...



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

la oja de coca - the coca leafla oja de coca - the coca leaf
la oja de coca - the coca leaf

captured in an excellent restaurant named after this ancient plant of the andes...
me at the puerta del sol me at the puerta del sol
me at the puerta del sol

...the gateway of the sun...


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb