Veneer of Reality


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

There is something about nature, making it almost better to be traveling solo. There is something about sitting by that immense lake solitary and small. But it's all for you. And you become timeless and the lake is finite. I walked around the lake this afternoon until I found a spot free from the crowds. There I sat for over three hours as I watched and waited for the sun to set and plunge into Titicaca. It was in turns exhilarating, thought provoking, and as if I was participating in a ritual that has been going on for millennia.

There is something about this place that feels like it has always been here and will continue going its way regardless of who is in charge. The Spanish didn't defeat them. They are still here. There is a great quote in the Rough Guide, saying that "Bolivia" is essentially little more than a veneer overlaying indigenous cultural traditions that stretch back long before the arrival of the Spanish. The people here are so fascinating and seemingly uninterested in the crazy tourists that wander around as if from another world.

I am really glad that I spent almost a week here in the lago region. It seems like one moment that has lasted and lasted. It will be interesting to go back to the party hostel scene. Will I be more receptive or less? More because I will be coming back from a sort of isolation or less because my mind and soul will still be back left at the lake trapped in a never ending moment of introspection.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb