July 8th day one?


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at 7am today remembering that the night before I was going to the institution early in the morning. Had some columbian coffee,orange, and some bread and butter and prepared for a 15 min walk on foot with Mirza.
(I am currently living with a Mom named Mirza and her 28 yr old daughter Daniellea).
Not knowing the number to Johns new house I had Mirza call him and planned to meet up with him at the school at 10am. The walk with Mirza was pretty intense considering that she only speaks spanish. I pretty much have no idea what there saying half the time but none the less my stay has been very enjoyable thus far. I can see how this is considered a 3rd world country because there is trash literally everywhere, but despite the poor aspect (similar to Mexico) I really feel no danger during the day but I can see how the night can be a different story. About half way to the institution the altitude hit me once again. It wasn't my head but more of my stomache that was feeling a bit upset almost like I wanted to Vomit, but Mirza couldn't really help me considering where we were at the moment, so I fought the urge and said nothing. Mirza kept trying to explain to me where we were from our house and trying to tell me what the streets were but like I said before, I really dont understand a lick shes saying. Actually I understand probably around 60-70 percent of everything she says. So we came up to a small creek where people were washing cars and hanging out and progressed along a wall and realized that the institution was HUGE. We walked through the front gates and there was 2 older Bolivian
women selling some sort of decorative bags. We continued to walk straight and through the glass doors to the main office and I could see MR. JOHN HOney on his Ipod Touch. We greeted each other and met some others when they asked for our passports. I didn't bring mine so John with his dissappeared and I sat Next to Mirza trying to make a quick blog entry when John returned shortly. We discussed whether or not to meet each other later on after lunch. I told him I wasnt feeling so great so I'd eat lunch at home and take a nap then call him to maybe meet at his house to do some exploring in the city later. We both discussed our living situations, Him living with 8 different people at a 3 story and I was living at a 3 story me being the man of the house. After some laughs and meeting some dude BEN at the institution who was from Missouri, we parted ways. As I was leaving I met 2 women who were from Ontario California haha what are the odds but didnt stay to chat for I felt like I was going to upchuck. Mirza
understood the puzzled look on my face and understood that it was time to get me home as quickly as possible. We started walking back and she was explaining to me where I was and how to get home from the institution but I was still not feeling 100 percent but had confidence in walking home. Half way through I stopped and Mirza kept saying "TRUFFE" or CAMINAR. What the hell is a TRUFFE? Then I noticed her start to wave a taxi down when it stopped. The 1st taxi was filled with like 8 people and didnt have room for 2 so we commenced walking again. We tried to wave down several taxi's(TRUFFES) before we were crammed into one. What a relief knowing that I didnt have to Walk anymore. The Taxi cost us 1.50 BOlivianos which was like 15 cents I presume? SO CHEAP! Got back to the
house and Daniellea was just waking UP. Rediculous...Mirza explained to her I guess that I was sick and somehow Daniellea diagnosed me that it was the Orange I ate. She told me to wait a bit before I start eating the Fruit but, the fried bananna's they had been serving me were delicious and were ok on my stomache. She boiled some water for me and made me some CoCA tea. After taking one sip and burning my mouth my stomache actually seemed to settle instantly. I drank the tea and decided to lay down while I waited for my Lunch to be prepared. I had Chicken, PASTA, potatoes, and some weird vegetable that tasted sweet IVE never had before. After eating a great amount and finishing off my meal with a large cup of red Jello I said my thanks and was off to bed once again. It was a little after 1pm or 13o'clock and Mirza said that at 3pm I should wake up and meet John at his
house. I layed down and fell asleep pretty fast and woke up to my alarm at 245pm. I told Mirza to call John and after speaking with him decided that we were both kinda messed up from the altitude of 8,500ft so to conserve our energy until tomorrow when our Friend Brook and her husband were to take us on a tour around the city. A little dissappointed and after drinking another coca Tea really wanted to do something. I asked Mirza if she wanted to take me on a walk. We walked around and even found out at a motorcycle dealership that they cost around 300 american dollars pretty cheap but I think Id rather consider maybe buying a bicycle first. Mirza caught another taxi that I barely was able to get in before the taxi driver hit the gas and I was forced into my Seat. I guess they dont wear seatbelts here and red lights really dont mean anything and I dont know how many people we came close to clippin in the taxi but it was a fair amount. I wasn't really too bothered because there was 2 pretty bolivian women probably around my age maybe a little younger sitting next to me but Mirza kept talking to
me and asking me questions but in reality I had no idea what she was saying so just kept responding "Si" probably made me look really American. I actually got off to let some people off and also thought thats where Mirza wanted to take me but she kept saying something so I just got back on the Taxi and she stopped talking. Our final destination was like a round circle with cars going all directions, reminded me of ROme a little bit, as people were progressing to the island in the middle dodging cars, while people were honking everywhere. The Road to downtown cochambamba was visible as I ran and followed her to the island. There were benches on this little island with cars cirlcing all around I was pretty scared but noticed that Mirza showed no fear as this was an everday occurence for her. She then took me back to the institution and asked if I was prepared to play volleyball. For a minute there I thought I was ready to play but at the last minute decided not to thinking how the altitude might affect me. we then started walk back to the house. She showed me the main road that was literally a straight path for about 10 minutes that lead to our house directly. Mirza explained to me that she was going to visit a friend and that it was up to me to make it back home. I was a little frightened traveling the road by myself but was pretty confident understanding where my new house was so was not worried undertaking such a task. Mirza had given me a couple keys one to the gate and one to the house so I had everything I needed.
Adios Mirza I shouted as I walked and noticed her hopping on another taxi. She didnt have her phone with her which kind of worried me but I had the phone to the house where Daniellea was so I wasn't too worried. Traveling the streets of Bolivia by yourself can really teach one a great amount of lessons as to always look where your walking and understand who is around you as you approach and pass them by. After about ten minutes I was pretty sure I was about half way there VICTORY was near. There was Trash everywhere, with smelly creek beds, and a large amount of dogs walking around or basking in the sun, and vendors selling liquids and things I have never before even begun to image or witness. I crossed the street like I was a Native or something not even bothering to wonder if there was a crosswalk because in places like this it really doesnt matter. Finally, I noticed a familiar sign "Maryland College" and remembered that at this light was where I make a Right, progress 2 blocks, hang a left, then 3rd house on the left. 2 diferent dogs crossed my path as well as probably a 12 yr old girl who in my mind shouldnt be walking alone I mean cmon now where are the parents? After the 1st block nothing looked familiar and I was convinced I was lost but progressed to the 2nd block and realized my instincts were correct I WAS HOME!. Struggling with the lock for a brief moment I opened my gate and the door to the house was wide open. I walked inside and started to close the door and Daniellea who was in the kitched rolled off a large amount of words. I just stood there no idea twhat she said and she opened the door and I realized that it was ok to leave door wide open. Now I understood,...not knowing what to do next just decided to watch some spanish T.V. After a couple shows Daniellea said she was going to take a shower so I decided to go make some Music beats in my room until dinner. I got to my room and found my camera and started making a documentary of my house and started taking pics from the windows of the 3rd story and pics from my room. I uploaded the pics on my computer and then made my way downstairs and met up with Daniellea who said she was going to the store. I Asked to go with and we
literally went like 2 min walk to the nearest food outlet and she purchased some bread (PAN). We walked back and pointed out an internet cafe literally right next to our house 3 bolivianos for an hour 30cents approx I believe. She prepared a variety of hot chocolate, cocoa tea, but I decided to have some other tea and poured half a spoon full into my glass. She made herself hot chocolate and we ate Bread with variety of ham, chocolate, butter, and jellies. VEry delicious I ate like 2 of the 5 pieces of bread and was relatively full kind of wanted to go to sleep again but decided not to get too full before dinner. We watched the Simpsons in spanish and then she started to prepare my meal. I asked if she needed help me she refused so I went to my room to make more beats and perhaps read some. After hearing some chatting and conversation downstairs I went to investigate thinking it would be Mirza but was what appeared to be Danielleas boy friend. Luis was the mans name and he actually spoke some English which was good news. Finally someone to communicate with in English and translate. Luis and I conversed while Daniellea prepared our meal. I learned about "CHICHA" which was an alcoholic beverage made with corn, and also informed me about an upcomming festival in August 14-17. Luis said it was mildly dangerous due to the fact that large amounts of alcohol were consumed and every year there was fights but Luis himself said he had never been robbed so that made me feel comfortable. He said it was definately worth seeing so I made a mental note and PLAN. It turned out that they were just going to watch me eat all the food because they had eaten already. I endulged in the chicken, more pasta, potatoes, Rice, vegetables, probably ate enough for 2 then felt enormously fool. Its pretty interesting how my family watches the news while we eat but Mirza was no where to be found yet. On the news I saw some bull gore some guy who was teasing, made him do a front flip, and when he got up his Ear was barely hanging on...somethin that would never be seen on american television kinda gave me a weird feeling considering I had just eaten. We laughed, Joked around, and I announced it was time for me to retire...Looking foward to tommorow as Brook is supposed to take me and John on a tour through the city. Its really nice having hot showers and water that I can rely on. No one though had told me about the troubles of walking on wood floors with socks...

Advertisement



13th July 2010

So proud of you Rob! This is definitely an amazing adventure! You are starting to know more about Bolivia than I am! Oh my! Ha ha! I love fried bananas! Delicious! And yes from what I recall when I was 5 yrs old.. Wooden floors and socks can be dangerous lol! Well enjoy yourself and keep on writting ur blog!:)
16th July 2010

hey?!
thanks for responding its always good to hear from people back home just about to add some new entries and pics so look foward to hearing from ya in next few days. Wooden floors have almost killed me literally lol. and ..not sure I want to come back to America like I will for my degree but then im moving and unfortunately Im no longer a business major haha and Nahh foots good but i Do want to try some saltenas! this isnt what consider writing either for i have alot to tell you more in depth..

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb