Bolivia I. I couldn't forget it if I wanted to.


Advertisement
Published: February 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

test entry. I still want to add photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

A Drama in Three StitchesA Drama in Three Stitches
A Drama in Three Stitches

bargained the doctor(?) down to ten buck s for three stitches and some anaesthesia. Like doctors everywhere, this guy seemed a little full of himself. Maybe I shouldn\'t have told him that...
Potosi-Joe and IPotosi-Joe and I
Potosi-Joe and I

In the mines, Joe and I
Potosi-minersPotosi-miners
Potosi-miners

A tough bunch of guys. These are the guys who gave me my Quechua name.
Potosi-me shovelling orePotosi-me shovelling ore
Potosi-me shovelling ore

not hard work, if only for five minutes. I can't conceive of doing this all day my whole life.
Potosi-Ch' alpa alcoPotosi-Ch' alpa alco
Potosi-Ch' alpa alco

My new nickname, "Ch' alpa alco" or "doghair" was bestowed upon my by Gustavo, the miner. He's something like 25 y/o and has been in he mines ten years already. They make maybe five dollars a day! Something to think about. Bolivia exports mostly raw materials. Other countries make most of the profits from their labor.
Potosi streetsPotosi streets
Potosi streets

Potosi has marvelously narrow streets and no apparent sewer system. When Joe and I arrived, the streets were veritable rivers. The next morning greeted us with snow!
Potosi mine tailingsPotosi mine tailings
Potosi mine tailings

Potosi is a nice city, but you can't ignore the obvious environmental damage ready to occur, such as these mine tailings and drainage ponds. Don't drink the water!
Potosi-Mint machinePotosi-Mint machine
Potosi-Mint machine

One of the machines used to stretch silver bars into liong strips. The strips were then punched to make coins. Now Bolivian currency is made in other countries. They have enough to worry about already.
Potosi-refining areaPotosi-refining area
Potosi-refining area

nasty chemical job. no safeguards here.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb