Para Bailar Cochabamba


Advertisement
Published: September 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well the town must´ve known I was coming as there was a huge festival here for my arrival. There was lots of street dancing, drinking, happiness and mercados. What more could I ask for? Well after a while of revelling, I realised it was not for my benefit, but a rather religious affair! It was the Festival of the Virgen de Urkupiña. Basically a huge excuse for the aforementioned street dancing and bands. Groups of dancers and bands from all over Bolivia converged on the small town of Quillacolla, about 12Km from Cochabamba to join in the festivities. They all wore mental costumes, very colourful and some very weird! Most groups danced through the tiny streets for a whole nine hours. This lasted for about 3 whole days. Well the Bolivians have certainly given me a run for my money already. I could only manage one day of the partying, as I am here to study Spanish. No more partying!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb