uyuni and tarabuco revisited


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

lighteninglighteninglightening

sunset on the salar
Another quick blog. First I am trying to use a "statistics tracking" program for my photos. The program shows number of hits, what site visitors came from and what city, state, country they came from. Now the last blog i sent out showed 0 hits from Illinois. Now for you that don't know it i am from Illinois and if this is correct it means that even my mom isnt looking at my photos.

So just in case there is any confusion I only put a few of my photos on travelblog but instead include a link to my photos which are hosted on smugmug. So, if you would like to see some of my photos from tarabuco

CLICK HERE



Now a little about what is going on. i went to tarabuco a few weeks ago to visited the pajllay festival (carnival). There were tons of people there, both tourists and locals and even the president, Evo Morales showed up in his helicopter. After the festival I went to Uyuni, Bolivia because I heard that the salt flats were covered in water. Around Uyuni are the worlds largest salt flats. Also in Uyuni is the best Pizza in South
trackstrackstracks

sunrise on the salar
america - Minuteman pizza in the toñito hotel. All I can say is go there!

Well when I arrived in Uyuni the tour operators told me the same thing so i booked a night at the salt hotel hoping to get some good sunrise, sunset and also middle of the day shots of the clouds reflecting off the water. When we showed up to the hotel it wasn't surrounded by water, but at least there was an area off to one side of the hotel that was covered in 2-3 inches of water so I was able to get a few photos.

After Uyuni I returned to Sucre and again I went to the market in tarabuco to good some more photos of the people there. Do to the slowness of the Internet here I have only loaded mostly photos of tarabuco. I am hoping to go into the country near sucre tomorrow for a few days and hike for a few days to some small villages. my plans are to take pictures of the locals in return for sending them photos. We will see how this turns out since I don't speak Quetchua. After this I think I am going to head back to Peru to get some photos there and then maybe back to the States to regroup and figure out my next move.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



28th March 2007

I care for your photos, even if I am from Indiana.
Hi Dave, I always look at your photos on the blog, and look forward to your new posts. Keep up the good work. I love "sunset on the salar". Clearly your specialty is wrinkled faces of old characters with stories to tell.
28th March 2007

Pictures
Great pictures Yogi. National Geographic material!
1st April 2007

Stunning Dave!!
ye what superb pics mate!!..really spectacular!!.. if you ever find your way to Cusco drop me an email!! Larry
2nd April 2007

photos
Good shots, I see the dental hygiene is a bit in trouble though. More photos of the city and buildings please. Be safe
17th May 2007

Happy Traveling
Hi Dave, Hope your travels are going well. Great people photos! Dale

Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 20; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb