Peru in a nutshell


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am wayyyyyy overdue for a blog entry. This last month in Peru has been a fast-paced, high altitude extravaganza across deserts, mountain ranges, and through ancient ruins. It's been a challenge to put everything into words, and looking back through my personal journal, I find long periods of silence followed by a frenzy of pages devoted to making up for lost time. To try and put a whole month of experiences in to one entry is far beyond my capabilities, so I won't bore you with any attempts. Instead I'll include some of the highlights...in haiku form...

HUARAZ

So...what's that in feet?

Fifteen thousand, eighty-two.

Those views were worth it.

CUZCO

Alpaca sweaters,

Alpaca hats, gloves, and scarves.

You get the picture.

COLCA CANYON

Ego made me think

I could do three hours down,

Four up, in a day.

MACCHU PICCHU

The secret is out:

You are both divine city....

And tourist Mecca.

I am writing from Rurrenabaque (or Rurre as it's known) after being stuck in La Paz for 2 days due to flight cancelations. Unfortunately, La Paz isn't the greatest place to be grounded. For me it was a dirty, noisy city, whose sole purpose was to be a dirty, noisy city. Amidst the baby alpaca fetuses and knock-off merchandise I found ways to entertain myself, though I can't say that I am looking foward to heading back through there on the way south...

Tomorrow I embark on a four day trip to the jungle, after which I vow to update this blog more faithfully. Peace!

Advertisement



6th July 2012

Haiku Form?
Haha you are such a dork! I love it. But I guess when words won't do a little poetry session is in order : ) Miss ya
8th July 2012

haha was there an ever a doubt in your mind about my dorkiness? I was going to post some fan fiction in the form of a Battlestar Gallactica script which takes place in pre-Inca Peru, but I decided that might be a little too much....

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb