Welcome to the Jungle


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Beni Department » Rurrenabaque
September 12th 2005
Published: September 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Photos from my shinanigans in the Bolivian Amazon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Cesna to RurrenabaqueCesna to Rurrenabaque
Cesna to Rurrenabaque

I took a small 12 seater plane to Rurrenabaque which took a mere hour, opposed to 17 hours on the bus. Best of all, the scenary was amazing. After fling over La Paz we flew around huge snow-capped volcanoes...
Cesna to Rurrenabaque 2Cesna to Rurrenabaque 2
Cesna to Rurrenabaque 2

...The mountains gradually gave way to as we descended from the altiplano via a region know as the Yungas into the jungle.
RurrenabaqueRurrenabaque
Rurrenabaque

Rurre is a beautiful, vibrant, bustling little town. The people are friendly and there is the perfect gringo/local ratio. I met an American who is planning to settle down here, and I can see why.
Motorcycle DiariesMotorcycle Diaries
Motorcycle Diaries

Everyone gets around on motorbikes, which sometimes cary a whole family. When my plane landed a motorbike with two guys on darted across the grass runway and I was immediately put in mind of Che Guavara's epic journey.
The Rio BeniThe Rio Beni
The Rio Beni

The river is the lifeblood of Rurre, for transport, tourism and for fish. Here a local chico is fishing with a simple length of line and a hook.
The JungleThe Jungle
The Jungle

On my second day in Rurre I took a 3 hour boat trip upstream to spend 2 days in the jungle. I felt like Michael Palin.
Medicine ManMedicine Man
Medicine Man

I went on a number of short treks into the jungle and my guide provided plenty of information about the medicinal qualities of the plants. Here my guide has made me a rather handy carrier for my water bottle from some vine. Top bloke.
OwlOwl
Owl

We went on a night trek along the beach and came across swarming spiders, lots of disturbingly large insects, and these small Owls.
The PampasThe Pampas
The Pampas

After the jungle I spent 3 days in the pampas - an area of boggy grasslands and rivers infested with gators and crocs, pink dolphins, pirahnas, and countless species of birds. I've never seen so much wildlife.
Big SpiderBig Spider
Big Spider

Someone found a tarantula which was nice, until it jumped into my hand and ran up my arm with its fangs out. Actually it was quite cuddly.
Snakes Alive!Snakes Alive!
Snakes Alive!

Its a shame this photo is a bit dark, because that thing I'm holding is a 6 foot long Anaconda.
Another...Another...
Another...

Here's another one we ame across whilst walking back.
Swimming with pink dolphins...Swimming with pink dolphins...
Swimming with pink dolphins...

...and alligators, pirahnas, catfish and other nasties. I swear I felt myself being bitten but the bites were magically healed by the time I got out and inspected myself. Luckily the crocs seemed to keep there distance, but it was disconcerting seeing them licking their lips on the bank.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

What you cant see very well is the vulture sitting in his nest near the top of the tree.
Pirahna fishingPirahna fishing
Pirahna fishing

This is one I caught. I'm proud to say I got quite a few. At one point I hooked a small catfish, which in the process of being wound in, was half eaten by Pirahnas. Nature can be cruel sometimes.
Pirahna cookingPirahna cooking
Pirahna cooking

Quite yummy actually. Taste a little like cod, not a strong taste, but very bony.


13th September 2005

i missss you
are you looking at good wedding sites for us???? :) these are some awesome pictures!! im jealous!
29th January 2006

I fixed your dark picture
Just stumbled across your site and decided to help you out on this picture. Just paste this into your address bar to see it. Image hosting by Photobucket

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb