Things that are different


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
March 22nd 2011
Published: March 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Since my bus leaves at 14:00, I have some spare time to write a little bit about the differences between Switzerland and Argentina.

Obviously, Argentina is muuuch bigger and thus, it's difficult to talk about "the Argentinian", but there are some aspects, which are different in general. First, my trip is quite exciting for many Argentinians because they travel mainly in Argentina (well, there's a lot to see here). Although they've never left their country, they like to talk about "the Italians", "the Spanish", "the Germans"... 😊 To speak more than one language is also something that surprises many people here. Most Argentinians had English classes during school, but the oppurtunities to talk other languages than Spanish are rare.

Switzerland is organised...stricter; however, the Argentinian way has many good aspects. I felt a bit lost in the beginning when I wanted to take a bus (where?? And where does the bus go/stop??), but now I appreciate the possibility of taking and leaving a bus almost wherever I want. Anyway, one can't survive Argentina without asking constantly where/what/how/when 😊

Many Argentinians are travelling in their country and in the hostels are people from everywhere and of every age. Everybody is very friendly and helpful and people from cities that I will visit later give me their numbers and invite me to visit them. So far, I know a psychiatrist from Mendoza, 3 girls from Buenos Aires, 2 guys from Buenos Aires, a couple from Rosario, a guy from Viedma, and a girl from La Plata, who all invited me 😊

Food...sugar, meat, sugar, meat... 😊 It's nice to eat facturas with dulce de leche from time to time, but I don't know if I could it this every day. Meat is great here, of course, but Argentinians don't like spicy food.

As you know, I really like Salsa etc. and Cumbia and Cuarteto are nice too, but it's simply everywhere...shopping center, taxis, buses, shops, hostels.......and pleeease, stop converting every good song into a Cumbia!!

Well, my bus is leaving, but I'll add some more details later.

Btw: my room-mates here in San Martín: a Polish doctor who lives in Germany, a Spanish girl, and a German girl who lives in Chile - I guess, all Europeans are in my room 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb