Ushuaia


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
January 30th 2011
Published: January 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

In my school days I never dreamt that I would ever travel to places such as this – Ushuaia, 'el fin del monde' the Magellan straits, Beagle Channel. And if I am honest I didn't think too much about what it meant to travel here for those people on board the sailing ships. It is a place that I would reserve for the use of the word 'awesome'.

We travelled down by bus from Porto Madryn, a journey of about 24 hours to the islan and then another dozen or so, depending on the tide and the buses. The scenery was lost on us until the island aas we travelled by night, but the island itself was interesting. The northern part is very like the mainland flatlands, with scrubby bushes extending as far as the eye can see. The next stage began with dead trees – then some live ones and gentle hills! All this was punctuated by going through the border between Argentina and Chile twice – at least we got to walk off the bus! At which point I met my what seems obligatory person from Shropshire. Bob came from Albrighton but had lived most of his life in Canada, it happens every trip! After the last passport stamping we headed into the mountains and lakes area – oh it was so lovely. No photos as I was on the wrong side of the bus, but so beautiful and there is snow! I see why Darwin described it as bleak but I love that. This all continued right down to Ushuaia where we arrived at about 10 o'clock at night. assuing that the booking for the camp site was successful we took a taxi to the site – all was well, and we pitched our tents in the woods. All very easy and exciting, the town in below us and easily visible. The site cafe served food until about 1 a.m. so a meal was no problem and it was time to try some local wine again!

Sleep was easy then we headed down into town to explore. We hit the museums and the shops checking out things to do.

Today we have walked to the local circular glacier, amazingly our map reading is improving, but we had to walk up two ski slopes during the walk,a kind of torture I think! I walked as far as the 'toes' of the glacier, then Dave, you will understand that when I reached a huge block of stone I decided it was picnic time – not as silent as the wadi in Oman but it had to be done. I sat on the boulder eating my lunch looking down to the end of the world – the sun was shining and it is a picnic I wll always remember. The views down in to the harbour are incredible, I shall try to download some. It makes understading the Beagle journey far easier of course, but I am still incredibly excitied about being here.

I am writing this at the site of the second ski lift, waiting for Veronica to return, soon it will be time for a hot chocolate, but now time for more looking down at that incredible view.
Home via the most lovely wooded walk, and a well deservved local beer! (The Photo went in the last post - sorry! and it won't load any more...)

Advertisement



30th January 2011

Picnic
But were you sat under a tree ??
31st January 2011

picnic
Sadly no tree this time!

Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb