Hiking days are over...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Cruz » El Calafate
December 20th 2008
Published: December 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Two weeks later and I am heading back from Patagonia to Buenos Aires tonight ! No more aching legs and sleeping in tents 😊 And no more wonderful mountains and glaciers 😞

The weather turned a bit more as expected for Patagonia the last week - windy and a bit of rain. I "finally" got to wear those 5 layers of clothes that I brought with me. Very different to our first sunny week ! Sleeping in a tent with the wind blowing is a new experience... Luckally our group is very small, so we can get 2 sleeping bags each. So when I wake up a bit cold at night (it was around 6 degrees) I could slip into the second one and sleep on. Also used my earplugs, as the wind is noisy and the birds wake up around 5.... we usually got up for breakfast around 8.

Living in a flat country like the Netherlands though, I realise I will never be well prepared for hiking trips (there is always the stairmaster at the gym, but how boring is that ?). The third day of our second week we had a 9 hours hiking day ! And it was unfortunately the day we got rain in the afternoon. So 5 hours in, heading up to the view point where we knew we wouldn´t see anything from (and knowing we would have 4 hours hike back again) I asked myself what the point was of hiking a valley when you knew the only thing you would have to do is walk back again.... ?! We were so happy to be back at the camp that evening, all we could do was eat and get ready for bed. My legs have never ached like that in my life before !

This last week has been in the Chilean side of Patagonia, which is a bit more "modern". We have had camp sites with restaurants, hot water and showers ! You can fill up the water bottle in the tap, or otherwise use the rivers like in Argentina. And it tastes really good 😊

I have also added photos from the Perito Moreno glacier which Julie and I visited last Sunday. In Patagonia you will find the Southern Continental Icefield where many glaciers are coming from. Perito Moreno is one of only two glaciers still advancing, therefore you can see spectacular ice falls right where the view point is for all the tourists. I managed to capture one on video but unfortunately it is way to slow to upload a video on the blog.... ! And in general the internet is very slow, so I had to be very selective which photos to upload (otherwise I will miss my transfer to the airport....)

So, next week I will see a bit more of Buenos Aires and maybe take a day trip over to Colonia in Uruguay. If I have something nice to share I will make a final update of my blog. Otherwise I just wish you now a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year !!!

Take care,
Marie

















Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Julies goodbye, Kathryn and Kevins welcome dinnerJulies goodbye, Kathryn and Kevins welcome dinner
Julies goodbye, Kathryn and Kevins welcome dinner

And I had the best steak in Argentina so far !
We enjoy Argentinian wine,We enjoy Argentinian wine,
We enjoy Argentinian wine,

while Jorge drinks Dutch beer !
Start of day 2Start of day 2
Start of day 2

19 km and 7 hours (windy, windy !)
Los TorresLos Torres
Los Torres

What a view !!!
The "Horns"The "Horns"
The "Horns"

from our campsite
25 km and 9 hours later...25 km and 9 hours later...
25 km and 9 hours later...

Happy to be back at camp !!
Last days hikeLast days hike
Last days hike

To Greys glacier (and boy was it windy !)
Having a good time..Having a good time..
Having a good time..

on our last evening out together


21st December 2008

Merry Christmas!
Hej gullegumman! Här sitter pappa och jag och tittar på dina fantastiska foton! Det är nästan så man tror jultomten ska komma vandrande över isen.... helt otroligt! Vi har firat lill-jul idag söndag, och pappa har handlat skjortor, skjortor, skjortor........ : )))))). Hoppas att du har det toppen, och att det inte krävs fem lager kläder där du är nu! : ) Vi önskar dig en Riktigt GOD JUL - MERRY CHRISTMAS SWEETHEART! - och GOTT NYTT ÅR - HAPPY NEW YEAR! Många KRAMAR från Sverige - Pappa och Cissi

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb