Final week...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
December 28th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A final hello to you all.... I am actually back home now (after just a short delay out of Buenos Aires and a sprint through Madrid huge airport with some 20 other fellow travellers trying to make the Amsterdam flight) enjoying my sofa and being back home. Unfortunately it is minus 1 degrees and so, so dark (how nice was it not to enjoy the sunny evenings of Buenos Aires, it was like being back in Sweden for summer !)

My Christmas week turned out really nice. Arnaud, a friend from Amsterdam, was travelling through B.A. on his way down to Patagonia. He also met up with his friend Eva, who had already been travelling around South America for 4 months. We booked a day early in the week to an "Estancia" where we rode horses and had a BBQ. We staid together in different hostels in Buenos Aires (first in the lovely Palermo, and then in a party hostel in San Telmo) so for Christmas Eve we joined some people to the nightclub Crobar. It was a fun evening and we danced until the early hours. Then for Christmas Day Arnaud and I took the opportunity to enjoy the (almost) empty streets of town and biked around for 5 hours (the hostel luckally had some mountainbikes, as the bike rentals would ehave been closed). It was a wonderful experience to bike on streets with 7 lanes (!) and feeling safe 😊

Friday I took a day trip on my own with the ferry to Colonia del Sacramento, in Uruguay (it is only a 1 hour trip over Rio de la Plata). Strolled around, had an hour at the beach and ate the most wonderful fish for dinner before it was time to head back to Buenos Aires and have a final drink with Michelle and Fiona.

The heat of Buenos Aires feels very far away now and I hope we get some sun these last days of 2008 in Amsterdam at least ! I must admit I have already booked my next holiday....... on Friday I'm heading off to Egypt (Sharm el Sheikh) for a week with my friend Malin. How could I refuse another week to the sun ??????????????????????? So, to be continued............ 😊

Happy New Year to you all !







Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

My Christmas "turkey":My Christmas "turkey":
My Christmas "turkey":

a Bondiola sandwich (super yummie !)
Our bike rideOur bike ride
Our bike ride

on Christmas Day


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb