Argentina and Fiestas Patrias Festivities in Chile


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta
September 21st 2012
Published: October 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

City tour of the city where I liveCity tour of the city where I liveCity tour of the city where I live

This place is called La Portada. The arch you see was created naturally, by erosion. The rocks nearby are super cool and we saw penguins there as well!
As I write this, my mind is consumed with the fact that--in a few days at this time, I will be HOME!!! But, since Kurt is home now, I must do something to pass the time until I leave...so, thought I would update the blog from some fun recent times here in Antofa and Argentina. I guess I can't be too jealous of Kurt since I got to go to Argentina and he had to stay here and work! But we had a fun time the second week of my vacation enjoying Chilean independence day here.

Independence day (September 18th--Dieciocho:Chile's month-long independence 'day'😉 is crazy. We began celebrating in my school the 1st week of Sept. We had many spirit days where we had games, wore costumes, had dances, etc. The national pride here is unrivaled, I think! You will see some photos of a tour I did with some teachers in Antofa. It was guided by our Chilean history dept. head. Interesting! And of course, superhero/princess day. Normally, I would not dress like a princess as I think it is important for little girls to see themselves as something other than prinsesses--however, a mom gave me the costume--so it was easy! And the kids loved it!

Then we had 2 weeks off to celebrate and I went to Argentina with a good friend of mine. Lots of stories (as I'm sure comes as no surprise to any of you!😉...So, I will let the photos do the talking once again...read the captions for more detail!

Sorry for being lazy in the blog life--I would rather tell you in person!!!

Missing all of you!!!

Besos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 116, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Alison at lunchAlison at lunch
Alison at lunch

Van Gogh cafe in the plaza de armas
Checking out the telefericoChecking out the teleferico
Checking out the teleferico

Gondola that takes you up the mountain to see the city from above...
Amazing buildings/architecture!Amazing buildings/architecture!
Amazing buildings/architecture!

So many interesting designs! I liked this broken mirror facade!


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb