Salta, Jump Jump.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta
February 27th 2006
Published: February 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I´m in Salta, in northern Argentina. When we last spoke, I was in San Pedro de Atacama, near the Bolivian border in Chile.

The town is super touristy, and thus super expensive... Ten dollar meals, ten dollar rooms... (boo.)

I met some Icelandic chicks, we went sand boarding. It was fun, but the sand burnt my feet... (ouch.)

They are semi-famous in Iceland, which I guess isn´t that hard, because there are only 300,000 people. Anyway, they have a website that is sponsored by a TV channel, if enough people visit they can get their own show. That´s pretty cool. If you go to www.sirkus.tv and click on pictures of girls that says ¨sudamerica¨there are some pictures of me there too.

Me and the Icelandic chicks planned on taking an 18 wheel truck from Chile to Salta, Argentina. But they were too hung over to leave at 7am, so I went to the border by myself.

I didn´t have the bargaining power of two hot chicks, so I couldn´t convince the truck drivers to take me. Luckily, I met a couple in their fifties who drove me all the way to Jujuy.. which is alot closer to Salta than San Pedro de Atacama. The trip would have taken 12 hours by bus and cost 50 bucks (American). But they took me for free, plus they gave me grapes and water... it was awesome.

When I got to Salta, a two hour bus from Jujuy, I was accosted by five hostal peddlers. I chose the one that would drive me there for free... it ended up being a nice choice.

When I got to the hostal I met a forty-six year old Canadian called David. He has been to 95 countries and every continent... he had some good stories... which we shared over three liters. He had stories about his time in foreign prisons, antarctica, easter island, the canadian bush.

We stumbled down to the main bar area. Where we parted ways... I eventually found travellers, who I could be properly belligerant with. I got mad-stupid-drunk... it was great.

I woke up the next morning, actually afternoon, 3pm, still hungover. I didn´t do much yesterday, except see Munich in English at the Mall.

Today I am headed south towards Buenos Aires. Its 20 hours direct by bus... ten too many hours for me... So I´ll probably stop in Córdoba or Rosario...

I don´t really like U2, but they are playing with Franz Ferdinand on wednesday in Buenos Aires, so I guess I´ll try to check that out.

Then on to Entre Rios for Carnaval.

THE END!

PS

Argentina is the best country I´ve been too. Great Infrastructure (you can flush toilet paper down the toilets), Great Food (steak), Great Women (really hot), Great Prices (1/3 the cost of a dollar)

Great.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb