Day 30 - Bus to San Pedro


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
February 8th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There are only 3 buses a week that go to San Pedro and they all leave at 7:00am so we got up at 5:30 to be at the bus station at 6:30am. The bus ride was amazing with rocks of 7 different colors in the first part and the desert in the second part. I was happy to see a lot of captuses! 😊 The landscape started changing as we were getting to Chile. We finally got to the Argentinean customs located at about 5,000 meters above the sea. I started being nauxious as I was walking around the customs. A paramedic saw me not being able to walk straight and recommended me to go the first aid room. Things started being black and blurred and fainted in the arms of 2 guards who brought me to the room. The nurses gave me some oxygen and made me lay down and I fell better after about 10 minutes. I was glad I didn,t listen to Brendan who was telling me the Altitud disease was just a myth! :P We went back to the bus and started going down the mountains so I felt better as the height was decreasing. After 11 hours of travelling we finally got to San Pedro and realized the town was so small that it doesn't even have a bus station. We tried to get Chilean Pesos from ATM machines but the only 2 machines had run out of cash. The only solution left was to exchange Argentinean pesos at a local store and to accept being ripped off with a really low exchange rate. After getting some money we were able to catch a cab to go to the hotel. I got mad at the reception for giving us a room with a shared bathroom and for increasing the price of the rooms. We then booked our excursions for the next 2 days with a really nice guy who even booked our transfer to the airport.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb