The chocolate and the scenery


Advertisement
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye Chile. We left for Bariloche and Argentina today on a bus that took around 7 hours. Amazingly passport control went without a hitch - although my bag was one of those picked out by another friendly dog (a professional sniffer dog this time though) to be checked. It was pretty much turned upside down and inside out. The guy even unzipped my washbag, unwrapped some of the souvenirs I had so carefully packed and basically made it very difficult for me to squash everything back in again.

We arrived at about 1pm to a VERY VERY windy city. And it was so cold as well. It was supposed to be a great ski resort….when there’s snow….but there had only been 3cm so skiing definitely wasn’t going to be something we were going to be doing here.

Apart from the noticeable change in wind speed, the other thing I noticed almost straight away (yes no surprises here) was the view. The men in Argentina were gorgeous!!

The town did remind me slightly of other European ski resorts and as skiing wasn’t an option we tracked down a fantastic café. Bariloche is famous for its chocolate and what better way to pass the time than to sample it. I ordered a chocolate caliente grande (well a small one wouldn’t have been enough) and it was delicious. Rich, not too sweet and just the right amount - it even had grated chocolate on top - perfect! So it was safe to say I was in heaven - drinking hot chocolate and watching all the cute guys walking passed - it’s a hard life but I wasn’t complaining!

Due to the fact that the skiing wasn’t an option we decided to leave early - despite the delicious chocolate so we sorted out our bus tickets for the next morning. Our hotel wasn’t great either so it would be good to get away. The only thing that made up for it was that there was central heating AND it was actually working. I think it was the first time I’d stayed in a place for the whole trip that had heating. But, I’m never happy and being so unused to having heating I was absolutely roasting all night!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb