Back to Patagonia


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro » El Bolsón
May 1st 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Phoenix to DallasDallas to Buenos AiresBuenos Aires to BarilocheBariloche to El Bolson

After 4 years it was time to visit my first home! El Bolson, Rio Negro, Argentina. "La hermosa Patagonia"

So I left Dave and Maverick behind for 2 1/2 weeks on April 14th. I arrived in San Carlos de Bariloche on the 15th in the afternoon and my welcoming committee was my Dad Carlos, sister Maria and my adorable nephew Julian. As those of you who know me well you can imagine it was an emotional reunion specially as I had not seen my Dad in 4 years.

After the hugs and the tears stopped I was straight back into Argentine life. Off to the supermarket to get food and wine to celebrate on our way to Maria's house. I have not been to Maria's house before so was delighted to find a really cosy and inviting house. They have built it all themselved out of adobe. Lots of hard work has gone in and still going on as they are building additional rooms.

Good food, wine and conversation flowed followed by a good night sleep. The next morning Dad and I drove to El Bolson, the town where I grew up and where both Mum and Dad
Dad & DamianDad & DamianDad & Damian

At Maria's house. Damien is my brother in law
live in. I have also not seen Dad's new house which I was impressed by and love the great views it has of the surrounding area.

It would be too boring to detail all that I did but I can say that I spent my days in Bolson with family and friends eating all the food I can't eat in England or USA, drinking, sleeping in and enjoying the place. Highlights where:

1. My birthday day which I spent with the family for the first time since I was 18. The day was a little rainy so could not have the picnic we had planned but went for a lovely walk by the Rio Azul and the Lago Puelo.

2. Getting to know Julian and teaching him High 5!

3. My birthday asado and party at Mum's with the family and old friends.

4. The walks with Mum and Dad

5. Going out the night of my birthday with my best friend from school Daniela and staying up till 5.30am!!!! Yeah, I still have it in me!!!!

6. Going back to the house I grew up in and sleeping in my old room
Rio QuemquemtreuRio QuemquemtreuRio Quemquemtreu

This is the river that go through the town of El Bolson on a cloudy day


But overall the bestest thing was to spend time with the family and just relax in their company.

Dad had to go to work to another city for a couple of days at the end of my stay so I went to Mum's and we then drove to Bariloche to spend a couple of days with Maria before I left via BA. Bariloche is a city surrounded by lakes and lots of mountains. In the winter its very popular for its ski resorts and in the summer for the lakes, hiking and other outdoor sports. Its very beautiful.

After 13 great days it was time to say goodbye again. I hate those times, making me wish we all lived closer to each but hey these are our lives so can't complain too much!!! So on the Sunday 27th April after lots of tears and hugs I boarded a plane to Buenos Aires to stay with the Marpegan side of family.

Got picked up at the airport by my cousin Claudia and some of the kids. On the way to her place we picked up lots of delicious sweet snacks (yes, Argentines are always eating!) to enjoy with the rest of the Morrone family who arrived later (they are Dad's sister family).

I stayed with my cousing Cristi who is also my godmother. On Monday after spending the day chatting and catching up with my aunt Nene, Cristi took me to a Tango Show, which was amazing, something I had not seen before and was not prepared for how good it was. It made me proud to be Argentine! Shame I forgot my camera.

Tuesday night had a meal with some more of the Marpegan/Morrone family, too many to mention as you can see in the photos. It was a fun and nosiy evening and was nice to catch up with everyone and reconnect again.

Then it was time to leave Argentina and head back for home to Dave and Maverick who I did miss very much and wished that they could be enjoying all this with me!

It was a great trip. Enjoy the photos, there are a lot of them!!!
Lots of love
Ginnie xx

Para los Argentinos!
Despues de tanto tiempo regrese a la querida Argentina con el simple deseo de ver a la familia y pasar tiempo con
Dad on one of our walksDad on one of our walksDad on one of our walks

by the river Quemquemtreu
ellos. Fue una estadia muy linda disfrutando de Mama, Papa, Maria y del hermoso de Julian!!!
Estuve en Bolson, Bariloche y Buenos Aires. Paseando un poco por el Rio Azul, Lago Puelo, la Loma del Medio con su espectaculares vistas de Rio Azul, Lago Puelo y los 3 Picos. En Bariloche visitando Llao Llao y la Colonia Suiza. Pase mi cumple alla, el primero desde que cumpli 18!!
Los ultimos dias lo pase con la familia Marpegan/Morrone en Buenos Aires.
Muchas gracias a todo por hacer mis estadia tan feliz. Los espero a todos por aca.
Disfruten de las fotos que son muchas!!!!
Besos y abrazos
Ginnie


Additional photos below
Photos: 77, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Dad, Pirata (the dog) and Valdisa (the cat)Dad, Pirata (the dog) and Valdisa (the cat)
Dad, Pirata (the dog) and Valdisa (the cat)

Yes, this cat also goes for walks! Pirata means pirate and I think valdisa is floor tile!
One of the many family dinnersOne of the many family dinners
One of the many family dinners

Josi, Maria, Julian and Dad
Blowing the candlesBlowing the candles
Blowing the candles

With Maria and Julian
Happy Birthday!Happy Birthday!
Happy Birthday!

Mum, Me, Maria, Julian and Dad
I am the cutest in his hatI am the cutest in his hat
I am the cutest in his hat

which was knitted by my greatgrandma!
The AuntieThe Auntie
The Auntie

I'm trying to smile, really!
Rio AzulRio Azul
Rio Azul

Blue River
Rio AzulRio Azul
Rio Azul

These waters come from glaciers and are very very cold


20th May 2008

Hi Ginnie, Lovely to read about your trip and see all the pictures. Sounds very emotional and a trip of a lifetime! Your nephew is gorgeous! Glad you are back home with Dave and Maverick now though! R xx
23rd May 2008

Meat
That's a lot of meat - I hope you had some veg with that!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0898s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb