Weekend in Cordoba


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lunch!Lunch!Lunch!

Lunch time in Belgrano... oh german food with an Argentine twist. Those are submarinos in our hands... hot chocolate!
So we had a long weekend... It´s best to start at the beginning. We hopped on a bus at 6pm friday night mentally prepared for what we thought would be a 9 hour bus ride. The bus was nice... they fed us (of course important to me!!) and there was more space than on an airplane. The first snag in the plan was a HUGE car wreck... or should I say truck wreck. The two gas carring semis backed up traffic for hours. We arrived in Cordoba City late and instead of going to the hostel we had planned out (it was already 8am) we hopped on the next bus to Bellagrano, a town about an hour and a half away. We got to the sleepy little town and shopped around (I found mittens! And they are made of lambs wool and alpaca to boot!) and ate an amazing lunch. The town is German founded, complete with Oktoberfest, so we had goulash. We got on our next bus (after consuming a few too many alfahores) and arrived in La Cubresita around 5pm. The scenery was beautiful! It is a small mountain town where many Argentines vacation. All the hotels were booked for the night except for one...which had 2 rooms availible and could sleep 7 people... the exact number we needed! It was pricy (around 130 pesos) and for a few more pesos we got dinner included. The dinner was amazing and complete with desert! woo! We spent the night eating, hanging out and walking around the little shops. It snowed! It was like being in a christmas wonderland...except in August. Bizarre! The next morning we woke up and poor Danielle felt like crap. We think she had food poisoning. After tending to her and having an amazing breakfast (where we accidently sat at the wrong table... we arent use to the fancy ways of the rich Argentines... were from Texas yall!) we set off on a hike to the waterfall. What gorgeous scenery! After lunch of hambuguesa completa (and by completa I mean hamburgerpatty, ham, and egg) we hitched the bus for a 3 hour ride back to Cordoba City.

We arrived in our hostel (which we booked the night before... getting lucky again that they had one room availible with 7 beds!) around 8 oclock and ordered pizza and empanadas. The hostel was packed with college age kids
Alfahore loveAlfahore loveAlfahore love

Danielle excited about that Alfahore!
from all over the world. It would definatly have been more fun if we were staying longer. We spent the next day touring Cordoba (Danielle was feeling better thank god) and just relaxing. It was a wonderful day. We saw all 10 of the major churches established by the Spanish Jesuits that founded the city. The bus ride back was much less eventful than the first and I loved our little get away.

This week has been uneventful thus far. I got lost on my way to yoga (hello I´m a totally lost American wanna give me directions was the look on my face I´m sure...) I found it and had another great yoga experience. I just know I´m getting more flexable! I just know it! I´ve found a good running loop as well. I run down the street (hile everyone stares because pretty much no one and especially not girls, run down the street) and then to a park thats about a 15 minute run away. Its wonderful. I get to see all the dog walkers out in the morning and other women running at the park.

Tonight I am going to see an Argentine band and
me!me!me!

I never looked good in hats... but man is that thing warm! (purchased in La Boca and made by hand with love)
get wine and Suday I´m going to a Boca Juniors game with Danielle. (Oh! I bought a Boca Juniors ROSARY I´m tellin ya these people are obsessed!) I´ll be sure to post pictures of that cultural experience. I love you all and miss you tons!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Big squirrelBig squirrel
Big squirrel

que bonita!
BelgranoBelgrano
Belgrano

Beautiful Belgrano. Check out the little tree and the big tree on the top of the hill!
The viewThe view
The view

The view out of hotel in La Cubresita. What a thing to wake up too!
Our hotelOur hotel
Our hotel

Our hotel, La Cubresita Hotel, looks like something our of a movie.
Babbeling brookBabbeling brook
Babbeling brook

Along the trail...
Church!Church!
Church!

Heres the church, heres the steeple...
Spralling hillsSpralling hills
Spralling hills

oooo pretty!
Mountain women!Mountain women!
Mountain women!

Katie and Kasina conquer the mountain!
Me!!Me!!
Me!!

Look how cute! (I think I may be balding...)
Church numero unoChurch numero uno
Church numero uno

Pretty day and pretty churches!
Plain on the outside...Plain on the outside...
Plain on the outside...

This plain looking church was full of gold on the inside!
Pretty fencePretty fence
Pretty fence

I loved this fence and I loved how the picture came out!


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb