Recent Adventures


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
July 27th 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit, hearing about the horrible heat in the US makes me glad I got to escape it. It was only in the mid 80sF when I left and I was still pretty excited about leaving it! But now, I must put up with the cold. It is very cold here. Usually around 8C. I didn´t bring any scarves either! I didn´t think I would need one. But yes, it has been getting very cold. Lows of 2C. The days remind me of Novembers in Michigan.
One day last week there was a terrible terrible hail storm. The hail stones got as big as softballs and many windows were broken and cars damaged. A certain plant outside my window was stripped of its leaves.

If you ever come to BsAs, you will notice that there are many dogs wandering around. It is very common that you will see someone walking several dogs at once. This morning I saw someone walking at least ten small to mid sized dogs. I say ten but I honestly think it was more but I dont´want to exaggerate lest anyone not believe me. Believe me!
I also saw someone walking three Siberian Huskies. How sad it made me.

I had my very first class Tuesday morning. It was pretty scary. I managed to wake up an hour and a half late, but did I really believe I would wake up at 5:15am? I wanted to be on my way to the bus stop at 6:30 because it could take 30-40 minutes to arrive at the university. Plus, I did not know where my class was being held so I planned on taking time to search and attempt to ask people where it was. I got on the colectivo (bus) at about 6:50 and arrived at around 7:20. Luckily, it was early enough that not many stops needed to be made. Also luckily, I was able to find my class!

When I entered the classroom, there were three Argentine students talking together. I took a seat and waited patiently for the start of the class. Eventually, one girl took her seat behind me and started talking to me. She asked me if I was from BsAs. No. Where are you from? The US. When did you get here? Two weeks ago. Oh wow, are you very nervous? Yes.
It was nice of her to talk to me. She said to her friends that "We have a new companion" and they kissed me hello. (Oh just so you all know, I´m bringing kissing back to the US. I am most amused when I see the male staff members greet male American students with kisses. The American boys look sooo uncomfortable and awkward! It´s hilarious.)

Unfortunately, there were many Americans in the class. There were about 25 students and ten of them were American, I believe. I didn´t want it to seem like we were taking over the world.

I really liked the professor, she seemed quite nice. I introduced myself after class and she invited me to come to her if I have any questions or need anything.

This weekend was exceptionally enjoyable. Friday night, a couple friends and I went to a restaurant called La Paila which was recommended to us by a host sister and rightly so! The ambience was cozy and pleasant, the food was incredible, and the live music was amazing. We three easily stayed there for three hours. Some Argentines left before we did! That is quite the accomplishment.

The next night we went to a small jazz club with an Argentine friend. Again, the live music was amazing. I am very impressed with the music that I have heard here. Afterwards, we met up with some other Americans to go salsa dancing. I danced with a few Argentine fellows and one of them even taught me some steps! It was a great deal of fun!

On Sunday night, I had plans to meet up with a new Argentine friend. He told me which colectivo to take, but I didn´t know exactly where I was going nor did I know if I was even going in the right direction! Eventually, I saw a street name that I recognized and decided I should disembark. I found my self in a completely unfamiliar neighborhood. It was dark. It was deserted. The barks of dogs could be heard. I was alone. Not one taxi or person or anything. I had NO idea where I was. I had my guia T (very VERY helpful/useful guide) but I don´t like to take it out in public because then it is obvious that I am lost! So I was walking for a while....in the dark, deserted neighborhood. Eventually I consulted the guia T and was able to find a corner with taxis and people and took a taxi to the correct location. Quite the scary experience.

Yesterday, we went to the famous Florida street that is famous for its shops and stores (I think...). It is definitely the tourist area. We went to a cafe to have some coffee. We sat upstairs and had a perfect view of the street and some gorgeous buildings. It was so touristy that as I watched the throngs of people out the window, I felt that I too, was a tourist (in a way I am) in a different country. I missed my little neighborhood that, while not as touristy, is adorable. Where a cappuccino costs less than a dollar. It has cute cafes everywhere and numerous shoe stores (I now say that I live in the shoe district) and the mall. Everything I need is within blocks: Bus stops, subte, shopping, food, entertainment, laundromat, internet, phone. When I walked up the stairs from the subte into my neighborhood, I definitely had a feeling of "I´m home. It is nice to be home." The streets are finally familiar.


Advertisement



2nd August 2006

Recent Adventures
Fascinating! You write so well, I feel like I can hear the sounds and expereince the smells of BsAs all the way up here. It's obvious that you've had no trouble getting used to the night life--should that surprise me? How did you do with the language in class? I remember Sarah's first classes and how she related that she only "understood what the professor was talking about." Are you picking up most of what your professor says? I missed your call last night. Trust all is well. I'm going to be at a confernce in Detroit from Sunday through Wednesday afternoon next week. Love ya and lots of kisses on the cheek!
2nd August 2006

Well, Melinda...it looks like you are taking my advice and having lots of new experiences! I'm glad you are having so much fun and meeting and going out with new friends. Your mom and I had a nice walk this morning, before the temperature climbed into the 90's. It hit 100-degrees in northern Michigan yesterday! I was surprised about the temps in BsAs now. It must be their winter??? When does Spring come to BsAs? God Bless you.
2nd August 2006

your real mom
Hi Melinda, I'm glad you're finding your way around. What kind of music and instrumentation are they having in the cafes and bars?
2nd August 2006

Cheers!
We are absolutely delighted with your travelog ! You do a wonderful job, and I am tremendously impressed with your language skills. You seem to have met some good Argentinian friends, and how wise it is of you to want to get to know the people. It is also nice to know...and not too surprising..that you can get in and out of your "lost situation". Keep it up...we are really proud of you. My friend here who used to live in BA is also interested when I tell her about your experiences. She hopes you get up in the mountains as she says it is beautiful...also good trout fishing for your dad. Love, grandma and grandpa
2nd August 2006

Mullets
Yes, the girls here have mullets, but not all of them. It's surprisingly frequent, though. I feel at home in Frankfurt now. When I travel, I always want to come "home" and I even miss it, which is surprising to me. I didn't think it would ever feel like that. The other day 5 different groups of people asked me for directions. I didn't think I blended in that well!
4th August 2006

Your adventures
It sounds like you are having an amazing time Melinda - I'm so happy for you. I love how I can really get a feel of what BsAs is like as it sounds perfectly fantastic! I will be checking up on you more now that I know about your travelblog. Live it up!
12th August 2006

education
Hi Melinda, Wow, I miss nice coffee and good cafes. I have to say I'm a little envious that you get to live in the Shoe District too. You know my size! So what was your class about anyway? Aren't you there to learn, not talk to the other students? Just kidding. Having fun here and miss you. Love, Sarah
25th August 2006

HI!
HI honey! Really, you are a wonderful writer! Thank you for setting this up, so we can hear of your days there. You must really be getting smooth in Spanish! Is it neat to think of the progress you've made so fast? Hope you found a scarf to wear while it is so cool - never thought of Argentina oas anything but tropical - my mistake. Are things Ok at your home with the couple? Does the lady cook for you, or let you cook, like, cereal and stuff? We're doing fine! Miss having you closer, but so glad you tried a hard thing. I'll pray for you and Jackie right now before bed time. Love you so,Aunt Pegs
30th August 2006

Mel, it is so nice to hear about what it is like down south. I am jealous of the cool weather because I have been suffering through tremendous heat for the past year. It never goes away! I am glad to hear you are going out a lot. Every college kid has to experience life while they can. I would be all over that jazz club, I wish there was one near me. Well, there isn't anything near me just red necks, haha. All that night life seems like a blast! I am glad that you aren't going to come home and talk to me about how great the widest boulivard is. I miss a night life. There isn't any kind of night life here in MS. I have been able to go to a few bars around. None are anything great. We had a winging on friday and that was a lot of fun. It was held at a place downtown and there were a lot of people there. It is nice to go to those because it is so inspiring and encouraging to see those people who just got their wings. I can't wait for that. By the way and winging is a party thrown for those pilots who just got their wings. A buddy of mine got stuck with being the duty driver. Yes the military is responsible about drinking. The duty driver is a guy who drives all the drunk people home when the night is finished. He didn't get home until 4:30 in the morining. Well, keep your head up and work hard but also play hard. Love ya

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb