The Verdict is IN


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
July 23rd 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Before I left the US, a woman who had visited BsAs had advised me that the people here live on top of each other. I am finding truth in this especially on the public transportation.

It depends on the time of day of course, but I see the buses drive by and they are practically overflowing with people. Every seat is taken and the aisle is stuffed to capacity. The subway is the same way. My very first ride on el subte, I could barely get in the door. My entire body was up against another person´s and I think there were three hands on me...No no, not stealing anything, my purse was safely sealed and under my arm. WIth that many people, you only have other people to hang on to! The director of the program assured us that personal space does not exist here. But again, it all depends on the time of day.

We took a tour of the city yesterday and visited the different barrios or zones of the city. In La Boca, where the buildings are very colorful, there were pairs of tango dancers who would offer to the tourists the opportunity to have a picture taken with one of the tango dancers in various tango positions. My friends and I went into a very small cafe to get a cup of coffee and in the cafe there were two musicians and two dancers dancing. The man offered each of us a picture with him in a tango position. I would post the picture but I don´t know how to do so on a public computer.

I met my family on Sunday and it consists of two people, an old married couple. I find them hilarious. When we first met, they both hugged me and kissed me as if I were their long lost child. We walked out of the hotel and waited for a taxi and my new mother, Mirta, would not stop talking. And she would never pause either. I don´t think I´ve met someone like that. Her speech was not excessively fast but there were no pauses for me to be able to think about what she said and understand it! Unfortunately, I must announce that El Gordo had passed since she wrote the letter. To me, that is exceedingly depressing.

Their apartment is adorable. They call it their "casita." Their balcony is really full of plants! No room to stand. The hallways are narrow and kitchen small, but they have plenty of rooms. Three bathrooms and three bedrooms, a den, and a living room. I have my own bathroom and bedroom.

I have a shower in my bathroom but there is no tub nor are there walls surrounding the shower. So basically, I have my own shower that has a sink, mirror, and toilet in it! I didn´t know how the water wouldn´t leak out into the hall way but it didn´t!

Anyway, upon my arrival last night they both continued to talk to me. At one point, they were both looking at me and going on and on and on at the same time. I don´t know how they expected me to understand! It was....overwhelming. I finally realize why Argentine meals last for hours on end. They repeat everything many many times! Mirta could not tell me enough that whatever I needed, I could have, that they were at my disposal, that they hope I feel very well in their house, and that this is my house. They kept saying how glad they were to have me and how much they love me.
Everytime they see me, they smile, pause, caress my chin and kiss my cheeks. And again tell me that anything I need, I can have and that they love having me. I don´t understand everything they say but when I left to unpack my things, I heard them saying how much they like me! I think that we might get along.

We ate dinner last night at 9:30. It was something called "locro" (i think) and was similar to a soup/stew: corn, beans, meat, onions, etc. Muy rico. They heaped my bowl high and so of course they finished first. As I was trying to finish, they just grinned and stared at me. While they were grinning and staring, I got a bone in my mouth. A big one. Not anything I could chew or swallow. It was very very awkward. I could barely say a word. Basically, I pointed to my cheek saying " I have a...a...a..." Grin and stare. Finally they realized what was going on and both gestured emphatically for me to put it on my plate like it was no big deal.

After dinner, they showed me around the neighborhood. There is everything around here! Very large mall, very large movie theater, botanical gardens, a zoo, and countless cafes, kisocos, and restaurants.

They told me that it was perfectly safe to walk around a night but only near the house and also to only speak Spanish when in public.

Upon returning to the casita, they went to get ready for bed. I did the same and was washing my cup in the kitchen sink when a young man appeared in the apartment. Who was this man? My new parents had assured me that they lived alone! The young, very stylish gentleman spoke to me (in Spanish). He seemed to know that I was a student. He asked where I was from and for how long I was staying. I was quite taken off guard but was able to answer the questions adequately. Then, he disappeared (walked out the door). l

Promptly, I asked my mama who that strange man was. She was very surprised and laughed. She said that she didn´t introduce us because she didn´t think that we would meet because he has his own room and bathroom. Apparently he´s lawyer from Belguim who is staying with them for the week and then he is off to Philadelphia. She loved that I was so surprised and confused.

Okay, now it is time to address the title of this entry. Many people have asked me which way the water flushes down here in the Southern hemisphere.
WELL, the verdict IS..................I dont know. I really don´t think that it can be determined because the water is forcefully flushed. So the direction that it flushes, I believe, doesn´t have much to do with being in a different hemisphere. HOWEVER, if you must know, I checked and it flushes clockwise. I dont know if that is different from the northern hemisphere or not because I forgot to check before I left.

Advertisement



25th July 2006

Wow
Your host family sounds amazing! I'm glad that works out. Even though I've been in Germany for 2 months, I still think, "Wow! I'm in Germany!" It's such a great feeling, and I bet you are thinking the same thing. It's kinda funny how scattered we are from high school. It seems like not many people are left in Rochester...look at us being all grown up and having these neat experiences! Have a blast!!
26th July 2006

La Boca
I am really glad you had a chance to visit La Boca it's something I would really want to do as well.
26th July 2006

nice
Mel, I don't think you have ever said so much in your life around me. haha! Sounds like a comfortable place. How is the winter? Miss ya
26th July 2006

Thank you!
Wow, Melinda! I feel like I'm visiting Argentina also! I love your blogs! What a great experience for you...and thank you for sharing with us also! God Bless You continually! Love, the Wests
27th July 2006

The Verdict
I'd say the verdict is still out--about the coreolis affect that is. I'm so mad that I missed your phone call!!!!!! And DAD got go talk with you!!xoxoxoxoxoxo
27th July 2006

wow, Melinda111, your trip sounds amazing! Your host family sounds very great, though it was rude of you not to eat that bone.
27th July 2006

the first time we took the metro in Santiago one of the program directors pushed me inside! I´ve learned that one can´t be timid when using public transportation. Yeah for amazing host families! I´m also living with in older(ish) couple but they have lots of family nearby and they are so adorable! I´m so excited for us!!
15th August 2006

Flushes
I just ran and checked the toilet.. it flushes clockwise here too! Maybe it's just different in Australia? Your host family sounds sweet! It must be a big adjustment getting used to such a different enviornment and way of life. Hope youre enjoying!
18th August 2006

Yeah for Melinda in BsAs!
Your blogs are so interesting! Thanks for including me! It sounds as if a foreign language is no big deal. YOu obviously were very well prepared. What courses are you taking down there? What do you think of the university in general? Is your host family practicing Catholic, and are there obvious protestant churches? It sounds as if their winter is quite moderate. Some of our poplar leaves are beginning to turn gold already and our nights are getting cold. Tomorrow JIm and I are going to a baseball game even tho the Calgary Vipers are in the lowest of the pro-ball leagues. We still see some very good playing, esp. by the South American shortstop. He is small, fast and very accurate with his throws. Are they still playing soccer there or is the season over? I hope you get an opportunity to watch your 6-year old cousin Micah play before he gets too old and self consious. We can hardly wait to have your mom visit in 3 weeks! Much love to you, Melinda, Grandma

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb