Cultural differences


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I apologize for not writing sooner. I always feel bad that I can´t write everything that I want to, but that would just take much too long.

Right now I am staying in a hotel with the other students. We meet our host families tomorrow and move in with them tomorrow. I received an email from mine a few days ago. My host mom said that she and her husband are old people but young at heart. She is a retired exec at Citibank. They have a son and three grandchildren. Plus a cat whom they refer to as "el gordo" or "fatty." They have plants all about their home like on the balcony, in the bathroom, and in the kitchen. I am definitely excited to meet them!

BA is very European and one European aspect that is very evident is how much everybody smokes! People smoke in buildings which so very odd to see. The city has "kioscos" everywhere where one can buy magazines, beverages, sandwhiches etc. They´re almost like gas stations but without the gas and much smaller. Anyway, smoking is so prevalent that some of the kioscos have lighters attached to a cord and anybody walking by can light up and go!



Advertisement



22nd July 2006

Kitty
Well, the cat should remind you of Chevy, then!! We miss you! But we are really glad you are experiencing another culture and language. Your host family sounds nice! xoxoxoxoxoxoxo
24th July 2006

Sweet a cat. you can give it benadryl and watch it foam at the mouth. Just kidding! - Love Ya!
24th July 2006

You're at your new home!
Hey Melinda! Good for you! By now you are in with all those plants and their fat cat! Aren't they fortunate to have you as their house guest! Beanie and Brownie, oneof the Grunau's guinea pig seem to be very lethargic and don't like the produce I give them. Neither is very active. I can put Bean out in the yard and he doesn't go away. Sometimes he eats my raspberries, however. I'm afraid to let Brownie out because he is an escape artist. The Grunaus are with Madelyn. Probably Big Renny will be joining them. Your description of BA reminds me of Evita. That's about as much as I know about the place. Much love, Grandma
24th July 2006

El Gordo
I dreamed that Mom had Chevy killed, and I cried. :( Glad you're there safely!
24th July 2006

accessible lighters
can you use the lighters for other purposes than lighting cigarettes?
1st August 2006

orrrrr...
you could put the cat in the dryer and watch it become an extra fluffy kitty cat! Poof!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb