A couple travels


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
August 24th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I´ve officially been here for almost two months. I am still enjoying the city very much and wish that you all could come down here and show you around my little but not very little at all neighborhood.

Earlier in August, I left Argentina on a day trip to Uruguay! We went to a little town called Colonia which has colonial buildings and very old cobblestone streets. I have pictures but are not readily available.

A few weekends later, I traveled to Gualeguaychu, Entre Rios which is about three hours north of Buenos Aires. It was a small, quiet town next to a river. It was great to get out of the city and relax!
I went with ten Argentines which gave me the opportunity to learn some....creative Spanish phrases. This weekend made me realize that I am forgetting some English words like...."paragliding," "pit," and "either/neither" and that I don´t know American slang.

I also decided that whenever anyone sneezes I am now going to say "Cheers" instead of the more traditional "Bless you." It all happened one afternoon in Gualeguaychu when we were eating lunch. We were making a toast and someone asked me what we say in English when we touch glasses. I told her that we say "Cheers." Well kids, Spanish speakers use the same word when toasting and after somone sneezes. So later I happened to sneeze and my goodhearted friend replied with "Cheers!"

I also had the opportunity to visit el Teatro Colon which was absolutely breathtaking! We went for a concert of tango music which was quite outstanding.

In other news, my first exam is coming up on the 19th of September. Today our professor told the three of us who speak English that for the exam if we wanted, we could write a few phrases in English because the material is a bit abstract. I don´t think that language is going to be the problem...



Advertisement



12th September 2006

So good to hear from you!
Hi, Melinda! I loved reading your journal entry and knowing that you are enjoying your time in Argentina. I look forward to seeing your pictures! I imagine you are seeing mountains, lakes, etc.?? Love to you from all of us!
12th September 2006

things
Hi Melinda, Great to hear from you. I suppose you are busy poring over your textbook before the exam next week! I got to talk with a couple from Argentina; they are from a city called St. ____?__ which is 3 hours away from BsAs. They were at our church for the hispanic day; we had a speaker from Santiago, a bunch of bilingual songs, and Pastor Cal had to translate for the speaker. Adrian, the guy from Argen., spoke Spanish to me--I just know he said something about something?!. I think I need to hone up my Spanish skills. Love you lots!
12th September 2006

School
What courses are you taking there? And what is your major?
13th September 2006

Cheers
Wow, so you Spanish is becoming natural to you then? How exciting. I wish I were there for you to show me around your not so little neighborhood. Why would you need to know that paragliding is a word though? Either/neither is a problem though. Love you!
13th September 2006

great to hear from you
Wow, Melinda, it's great to hear from you and that you're getting city and country life, Argentinian and USian. I'd love to hear you speaking Espanol all the time and see your neighbourhood. Have you felt yourself going through stages of culture shock? Keep sending us your messages! The clouds tonight are shiny wavy arms back lit by the moon. Hope they reach hugs to you. Lots of Love
13th September 2006

Thanks so much for letting us in on your life there! It's so cool to hear, and your writing brings your experiences to life for me.
18th September 2006

From Jacky
Hehe. You make me chuckle at my computer screen. I miss you, cutie! I realized how much when I framed that picture of us from Tennessee on Aunt Peggy's chair. With the teddy bear. When we were in our mid-teens. Remember? REMEMBER? Good luck! (Especially with the Argentinean gentlemen.)
18th September 2006

Good luck on your test!
Hi Sweet Melinda! Your first major test can be scary--or it would be for me when it is not in my mother tongue. What subject is it and what are your other subjects? Good luck, but I know you will do just fine.You bring background and experience which they may be eager to hear. Your trips around sound fascinating! And I'm glad tohear you are learning to tango. That should be so much fun! Do you ever get homesick? Just know that your mom, Aunt Peggy and I will be glad to bring a part of your former life down to visit whenever you say. Today I attended an all-day, all-women seminar with 1300 others. I attended 4 sessions which now sound a bit shallow: Being optimistic, Heart and Mind of woman, Mind-Body-Medicine, and Laughter-elixir for the Spirit. .I'm not sure they were worth a whole day, esp. since I had to miss church. Your blog entries are so interesting! You are such a good writer! Keep up the good work, and remember how much I love you! Grandma Joye

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb